Christmas Stakes Race Information

The Christmas Stakes is an 1100 metre open handicap race run by the Melbourne Racing Club in late December. It is held at Caulfield as one of the feature races on the programme.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1100 metres
  • Conditions: Open handicap
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Tuesday 26 December 2023

Christmas Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Christmas Stakes Preview and results

See the 2022 Christmas Stakes Preview and results

See the 2021 Christmas Stakes Preview and results

When people look back over the winners of past Christmas Stakes it somehow seems totally appropriate that the 2020 race was won by a horse called Pandemic.

It is now part of the new Summer Sprint Series in Melbourne and is the second of the four race series. The other races are the Listed Kensington Stakes at Flemington, the Group 3 Standish Handicap at Flemington and the Group 2 Australia Stakes at Moonee Valley. Racing Victoria announced the changed programming in late 2021, and prizemoney for all four of these races has been boosted. The winner of the Christmas Stakes will be exempt from the ballot for the Oakleigh Plate which should lead to an increase in field size and quality for this race. The distance has been reduced from 1200m to 1100m to give sprinters a better sequence of sprint distances.

Usually raced at Caulfield it is held at Sandown Hillside in 2022.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Marabi (2021)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Native Soldier (2018); Filly – ?

Fastest time (1100m): Marabi (2021) 1:02:80

Fastest time (1200m): All Too Royal (2019) 1:08:34

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Christmas Stakes

Winners of past Christmas Stakes include horses that go on to win major races.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Sghirripa Najem Suhail Curran
2022 Jigsaw Shamino Rose Quartz
2021 Marabi Away Game Parsifal
2020 Pandemic Brave Song William Thomas
2019 All Too Royal Mystyko Crystal Dreamer
2018 Native Soldier Manolo Blahniq Runson
2017 Stellar Collision Oak Door Lucky Liberty
2016 Lucky Liberty Grande Rosso Smart Dart
2015 Tuscan Sling Reldas Sirbible
2014 Tried And Tired Lord Of The Sky Go The Knuckle
2013 Karacatis Richie’s Vibe Kneeling
2012 Undeniably Sea Lord Youbolt
2011 Zedi Knight Cascabel Guru Bob
2010 Grand Duels Miss Octopussy Gold In Dubai
2009 Here De Angels Tramuntana Time Matters
2008 Mind Your Head Orbit Express Itsamonty
2007 Cocinero Stickpin Colonel Parker
2006 Soleil Message Bank Barabba Road
2005 Murray Downs Blur Stratton Place
2004 Social Glow Lord Volksraad Feel The Noise
2003 Bulbasaur Choreograph Raja Lane
2002 Raja Lane Sir Chuckle Panorama Heights
2001 Intelligent Star Dash For Cash Bush Outlaw
2000 Torumba Guiscard Appoint
1999 St Chrisoph Glamouremus Livid