Newcastle Gold Cup Race Information

The Newcastle Gold Cup is a 2300 metre open handicap race run by the Newcastle Jockey Club in early September. It is held at Broadmeadow Racecourse and the winner is exempt from The Metropolitan ballot.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 2300 metres
  • Conditions: Open handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Broadmeadow Racecourse, Newcastle, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $250,000
  • Date: Friday 17 September 2021

Newcastle Gold Cup Race History

See the 2021 Newcastle Gold Cup Preview and Results

Many horses come to this race via the Group 3 Premier’s Cup or the Listed Wyong Cup.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Bianca (2008)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – none; Filly – none

Multiple winners: Duo (1965 & 1966); Duke Alwyne (1915 & 1916)

Fastest time (2300m): Hush Writer (2019) 2:23:25

Wyong Cup & Newcastle Gold Cup: Carzoff (2018); Beyond Thankful (2015);

Newcastle Gold Cup & The Metropolitan: Glencadam Gold (2012) ; Hunter (1989); Duo (1966); Conductor (1950); Strength (1931)

Leading trainers: Gai Waterhouse with 6 wins (Hush Writer 2019; Broadside 2017; Glancadam Gold 2012; Stratofortress 2010; Bianca 2008; Agincourt Express 2001)

Interesting trivia: Race not held in 2007 due to Equine Influenza. There was a dead heat in 2005 between Carael Boy and High Cee.

Past winners of the Newcastle Gold Cup

Winners of past Newcastle Gold Cups include Melbourne Cup winners Green Moon and Gurner’s Lane.

Year Winner Second Third
2021 Great House Quick Thinker No Compromise
2020 Mugatoo Hush Writer Attention Run
2019 Hush Writer Attention Run Our Candidate
2018 Carzoff Auvray Just Shine
2017 Broadside Auvray Admiral Jello
2016 Sacred Master Dee I Cee Junoob
2015 Beyond Thankful Orbec Rio Perdido
2014 Disclaimer Brigantin Wish Come True
2013 Winning Glory Lucripetous Peal Of Bells
2012 Glencadam Gold Peal Of Bells Gazza Guru
2011 Green Moon Home On A Wing Gazza Guru
2010 Stratofortress Snow Alert Scottish Border
2009 Streetfighter Lodge The Deeds Enzedex Eagle
2008 Bianca Keepin The Dream County Tyrone
2007  ** Race not run **
2006 Bikkie Tin Blues Exinite Respect
2005 Carael Boy
High Cee
 *  equal 1st Cross Bar
2004 Another Warrior New York Style County Tyrone
2003 Comforts My Tally Daneborogh
2002 Time Off Red Trinket Danyon
2001 Agincourt Express Yuppie Consolidator
2000 Silent Impact Prophet’s Kiss She’s Neat
1999 Maltese Beauty Zexzabeel Edward Brae