The City Tatt’s Club Cup Race Information

The City Tatt’s Club Cup is a 2400 metre quality handicap race run by the Australian Turf Club in late Ocotber. It is held at Randwick as part of the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 2400 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $140,000
  • Date: Saturday 24 October 2020

City Tatt’s Club Cup Race History

The race was first run in 1900, the year of Federation. It was run again the following year, then nothing happened for a decade until its recommencement in 1911. It has been run virtually every year since, apart from 2007 when the equine flu outbreak meant many of our races weren’t run. The 2011 running was called the 100th City Tatts Club Cup

In 2010 Maluckyday won this race by 4.3 lengths for Team Hawkes then two weeks later won the Group 3 Lexus which qualified him for the Melbourne Cup. Three days later he performed magnificently to beat home very horse except the winner Americain, a French stayer. The horses he beat included the Favourite So You Think, 2009 Melbourne Cup winner Shocking, and Precedence who was the last horse trained by Cups King Bart Cummings to run in a Melbourne Cup (Precedence was in the Cup in 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2014)

The race is run on the same day as The Nivison, which is the last Group race of the Sydney spring carnival, the $1,000,000 Bondi Stakes and the Listed Brian Crowley Stakes.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win; Crafty Irna (2012)

Fastest time (2400m): Maluckyday (2001) 2:28:37

Interesting trivia: Race not run in 2007 due to equine influenza.

Past winners of the City Tatt’s Club Cup

Winners of past City Tatt’s Club Cups include Maluckyday (2010).

Year Winner Second Third
2020 Knights Order Rondinella Djukon
2019 Master Of Wine Maurus Master Of Arts
2018 Exoteric Social Element Destiny’s Kiss
2017 Destiny’s Kiss Alward Admiral Jello
2016 Junoob Murphy’s Delight Alegria