Chipping Norton Stakes Race Information

The Chipping Norton Stakes is a 1600 metre weight-for-age race run by the Australian Turf Club. The race is held in late February or early March at Warwick Farm or Randwick during the Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 1
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Open WFA, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $600,000
  • Date: Saturday 27 February 2020

Chipping Norton Stakes Race History

The Chipping Norton Stakes is the first Group 1 race for the calendar year in Sydney and was traditionally the only race day of the Sydney Autumn Carnival held at Warwick Farm. From 2016 it has been held at Randwick. The race dates back to 1925 and the first winner had the interesting name of Wallace Mortlake.

From 1925 to 1972 the race was held over 10 furlongs (about 2000 metres) and was increased to 2100 metres from 1973 to 1979 until in 1980 it changed to the present distance of 1600 metres. It was held at Randwick in 1992, 2001, 2008 and 2009 and has been a Group 1 race since 1986.

The Group 2 Apollo Stakes over 1400 metres is often used as a lead-up race to the Chipping Norton, and winners of the Chipping Norton are exempt from ballot in both the Doncaster and the Sydney Cup. Horses aiming for the Doncaster will often have their next start in the Group 1 George Ryder Stakes.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Verry Elleegant (2021)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – He’s No Pie Eater (2007); Filly – Heat Of The Moment (1986)

Multiple winners: Winx (2016, 2017 & 2018); Shoot Out (2012 & 2013); Tie The Knot (1999, 2000, 2001 & 2002); Super Impose (1991 & 1992); Apollo Eleven (1973 & 1975); Tulloch (1958 & 1960); Carioca (1953 & 1955); Carbon Copy (1949 & 1950); Katanga (1944 & 1945); Lough Neagh (1933, 1936 & 1937).

Fastest time (1600m): Winx (2019) 1:33:27

Interesting trivia: In 1946 Bernborough beat champion mare Flight in one of the most publicised clashes of the time.

Past winners of the Chipping Norton Stakes

Some greats of the Australian turf have won the Chipping Norton and in 1946 the great Bernborough beat champion mare Flight in one of the most publicised clashes of the time. Past winners include Phar Lap, Tranquil Star, Comic Court, Tulloch, Sky High, Rain Lover, Gay Icarus, Emancipation, Our Waverley Star, Super Impose, Lonhro and Octagonal. Tie The Knot won the race four times in 1999, 2000, 2001 and 2002.

Year Winner Second Third
2021 Verry Elleegant Colette Avilius
2020 Te Akau Shark Verry Elleegant Fierce Impact
2019 Winx Happy Clapper Unforgotten
2018 Winx Prized Icon Classic Uniform
2017 Winx Lasqueti Spirit Who Shot Thebarman
2016 Winx Dibayani Hauraki
2015 Contributer Hartnell He’s Your Man
2014 Boban It’s A Dundeel Hawkspur
2013 Shoot Out Monton Danleigh
2012 Shoot Out Danleigh Trusting
2011 Danleigh Centennial Park Sacred Choice
2010 Theseo Rangirangdoo (NZ) Danleigh
2009 Tuesday Joy Vision And Power Gallant Tess
2008 Casino Prince Tuesday Joy Sniper’s Bullet
2007 He’s No Pie Eater Desert War Mentality
2006 Desert War Eremein ` Ike’s Dream
2005 Grand Armee Court’s In Session Winning Belle (NZ)
2004 Starcraft (NZ) Ambulance Gentle Genius
2003 Lonhro Shogun Lodge Dress Circle (NZ)
2002 Tie The Knot Freemason Universal Prince
2001 Tie The Knot Dottoressa Referral
2000 Tie The Knot Adam Staging

From the archives:

Chipping Norton Stakes Preview & Tips 2018

Track: Soft    Weather: Fine

There are only nine runners for the $600,000 TAB Chipping Norton Stakes and three of them are trained by Chris Waller. The odds-on favourite is super mare Winx who won this race in 2016 and 2017. She hasn’t started since the Cox Plate in October but won her latest trial by a big margin. Second favourite is Prized Icon who was 4th in the Apollo Stakes last start while third favourite is Stampede who ran 6th in the Apollo but generally improves second-up.

The other six runners are currently all over $40 and include Lasqueti Spirit who was 2nd in this race last year and whose only win was the Group 1 Crown Oaks at a price of 100 to 1. Who Shot Thebarman ran 3rd last year but is the rank outsider here. The favourite should be too good for them but is at very short odds, so this is a race to watch and enjoy the return of the champion.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
7 Winx
4 Prized Icon
6 Jemadar
5 Stampede