Burgess Queen Stakes Race Information

The Burgess Queen Stakes is a 1400 metre set weights plus penalties race for three-year-old fillies run by the Western Australian Turf Club in early November. It is held at Ascot as part of the Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YO filllies
  • Track: Ascot Racecourse, Perth, Western Australia
  • Prizemoney: $125,000
  • Date: Tuesday 7 November 2023

Burgess Queen Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Burgess Queen Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Burgess Queen Stakes Preview and results.

The race was first held in 1982 when it was won by My Serene ridden by WA Hall Of Fame jockey Rod Kemp and trained by Frank Maynard. The race is named after the horse Burgess Queen who was trained by Frank Maynard and was unbeaten in seven starts as a two-year-old including the 1976 Karrakatta Plate and the 1977 Belmont Sprint carrying 51.5kg, then went on to win the Prince Of Wales Stakes, Lee Steere Stakes and A.J.Scahill Stakes as a three-year-old. As well as winning the inaugural edition of the race named after the horse he trained, Maynard went on to win the race with Achtung Bay in 1995 and Denver Dame in 1987.

Many fillies come through the Listed Belgravia Stakes as a lead-up to this race.

Useful Facts

Fastest time (1400m): Even Astar (2010) 1:21:91

Leading jockeys: Neville Parnham with 4 wins (Lady Cosmology 2018; Clueless Angel 2009; O’Flirty 2004; Kalatiara 2000; Achtung Baby 1995).

Leading trainers: John P Thompson with 3 wins (Kay Cee 2019; Elicazoom 2016; Even Astar 2010; Fortune Streak 2001)

Interesting trivia: The heaviest weight carried by a winner was 57.5 by Kalatiara in 2001. 2003 winner Belhari started at 60 to 1.

Past winners of the Burgess Queen Stakes

Winners of past Burgess Queen Stakes include Miss Rose De Lsgo (2013).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Keshi Boom Super Smink Miss Rockjoy
2022 Laced Up Heels Amelia’s Jewel Miss Drakova
2021 Buzzoom Searchin’ Roc’s Flying Missile
2020 Snickerdoodledandy Kissonallforcheeks Magical Dream
2019 Kay Cee Tuscan Queen Sanabreanna
2018 Lady Cosmology Flirtini Arcadia Queen
2017 Mikimoto Art Series Sophia’s Secret
2016 Ellicazoom Caipirinha Samovare
2015 Blackwood Snowy Chloe Arcadia Dream
2014 Ideal Image Prete A Partir Delicacy
2013 Miss Rose De Lago Via Laurentina Cool Trade
2012 Antique Belle Secret Scandal Darlington Abbey
2011 Red Hot Sax Dark Miss Mendicity
2010 Even Astar All Friared Up Lauradane
2009 Clueless Angel Dawinner Avante
2008 Locus Standi Valentine Miss Moccasin Bend
2007 Impressing Matters Moisture Versarc
2006 Pantenny Translate Pity Me
2005 Snacking Siesta Park Wave Rock
2004 O’Flirty Stormy Nova Is Amazing
2003 Belhari Lonicera Cintrice
2002 Point Of No Return Amphritite Trimagic
2001 Fortune Streak Honor Lap Kentiara
2000 Kalatiara Terlingua Light Smooth Mover
1999 Gwalia Girl Twain Reflected Image