Belgravia Stakes Race Information

The Belgravia Stakes is a 1200 metre set weights plus penalties race for three-year-olds run by the Western Australian Turf Club in late October. It is held at Ascot as the feature race of the meeting.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YOs
  • Track: Ascot Racecourse, Perth, Western Australia
  • Prizemoney: $100,000
  • Date: Saturday 24 October 2020

Belgravia Stakes Race History

The race was first run in 1898 and was won by a horse called Scarpia. Back then the distance was 1400m. The sire of Scarpia was called Neckergast and he also sired the 1989 winner Tarquin.

It is the first black type race of the Western Australian thoroughbred racing season that is exclusively for three-year-olds and is the feature event of the meeting.

It is held on the same day that the Cox Plate is held in Melbourne.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Magical Dream (2020)

Fastest time (1200m): Waratah’s Secret (2009) 1:08:13

Leading jockeys: Tiger Moore with 5 wins (Tricar 1970; Baccare 1965; Emporium 1957; Shonner 1947; Hillian 1942). William Pike and Frank Treen have both ridden 4 winners.

Leading trainers: Grant Williams with 6 wins (Magical Dream 202; Mystery Miss 2018; Perfect Jewel 2017; Perfect Reflection 2015; Disposition 2014; Arcadia Rose 2013). The last three were co-trained with his wife Alana.

Interesting trivia: Before co-training the 2017 and 2018 winners, Alana Williams won the race as a jockey in 2004.

Past winners of the Belgravia Stakes

Winners of past Belgravia Stakes include Perfect Jewel (2017), Waratah’s Secret (2010), Paris Petard (2006), McFlirt (1997), Jungle Dawn (1986), Jungle Mist (1984), Nicopolis (1962) and Raconteur (1952).

Year Winner Second Third
2020 Magical Dream Mystical View Watch Me Dance
2019 Jericho Missile Special Choice Dig Deep
2018 Mystery Miss Chic Pix Flirtini
2017 Perfect Jewel Epic Grey Art Series
2016 Caipirinha Saul’s Special Get over It
2015 Perfect Reflection Arcadia Dream Blackwood
2014 Disposition Fuld’s Bet Cuanzo
2013 Arcadia Rose Petrol Power Coruscation
2012 Miss Solis Darlington Abbey Secret Scandal
2011 King Saul Flying Affair Almachino
2010 Even Astar Lauradane Miss Condition
2009 Waratah’s Secret Romeda Dawinner
2008 Moccasin Bend Grand Nirvana Sheenasaidgrey
2007 Megatic My Time Major Canny
2006 Paris Petard Maxximus Dignitas Trimvision
2005 Manjar Lock the Vault Yaya Lad
2004 Stormy Nova O’flirty Metaldale
2003 Changing Lanes Detail Magic Aces
2002 The Right Money Hot Shot Brother Zoometric
2001 Millpak Royal Retrieve Storm Fille
2000 Old Fashion Metal Master King Of The Kites
1999 At The Club Mulgs King Voile D’Or