Many trainers and owners want their horses to compete in the world’s most famous 2 mile handicap. When initial nominations closed on Tuesday 2nd August there were 186 horse nominated (136 domestic and 50 overseas runners). When First Declarations closed on 6th September the list had dropped to 97 horses. After Second Declarations were released on 27th September there were 58 remaining, which dropped to 47 when Third Declarations came out. After the Cox Plate weekend the list now stands at 34 following Fourth Declarations, and will be whittled back to the final 24 before this week is finished.

As a handicap those allocated the lightest weights will be struck off first. But there are exceptions as the winners of certain races are exempt from the ballot.

Exemptions from the Melbourne Cup ballot

The winners of the following Australian races are exempt from the ballot

Some international runners are also exempt from the ballot if they have registered a “Relevant Race Performance” and last years Melbourne Cup and Caulfield winners are exempt.

At the moment that means that Durston, Lunar Flare, Point Nepean and Irish horse Deauville Legend are the only four runners that have definite spots, leaving 30 horses hoping to be in the other 20 spots.

The list of 30 includes 5 horses from the Ciaron Maher & David Eustace stable (Gold Trip, Grand Promenade, Smokin’ Romans, Interpretation and High Emocean), 3 from Robert Hickmott (King Of The Castle, Serpentine and Schabau), 2 from Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott (Hoo Ya Mal and Knights Order), 2 from Ben & JD Hayes (Camorra and Makram), 2 from Michael Moroney (Emissary and Chapada) and 2 from Danny O’Brien (Young Werther and Vow And Declare). The Cummings dynasty is represented by one runner from James and one from Edward.

The 2022 Melbourne Cup current order of entry is:

  1. Durston  – now scratched
  2. Lunar Flare
  3. Point Nepean
  4. Deauville Legend
  5. Gold Trip
  6. Duais
  7. Montefilia
  8. Hoo Ya Mal
  9. Knight’s Order
  10. Loft
  11. Without A Fight
  12. Numerian
  13. Camorra
  14. Alegron
  15. Stockman
  16. Young Werther
  17. Vow And Declare
  18. Grand Promenade
  19. Tralee Rose
  20. Daqiansweet Junior
  21. Arapaho
  22. Crystal Pegasus
  23. Smokin’ Romans
  24. Emissary
  25. Realm Of Flowers
  26. Interpretation
  27. Makram
  28. King Of The Castle
  29. Serpentine
  30. Chapada
  31. San Huberto
  32. Harmysian
  33. High Emocean – moves up for her Bendigo Cup win
  34. Schabau

Races that can change the order of entry

There are only 2 races left where results are likely to impact on the order of entry. These are the Listed Bendigo Cup over 2400m on Wednesday 26th October and the Group 3 Lexus Archer Stakes over 2500 metres on Saturday.

The Bendigo Cup field includes Crystal Pegasus (22nd position) and High Emocean (equal 32nd position) who would need to win by enough margin to get a 1.5 kg penalty to get her chance in the Cup field. Both of then have also been nominated for the Lexus on Saturday, so they could be tired horses by the end of the week.

The Lexus nominations include many other Cup hopefuls including Alegron (currently 14th in order of entry), Realm Of Flowers (25th ), Chapada (30th), Makram(27th), Serpentine (29th), Interpretation (26th), Schabau (equal 32nd) and King Of The Castle (28th). Point Nepean is also nominated for the Lexus but is already assured of a Melbourne Cup run.

Currently Deauville Legend is favourite in Cup betting, followed by Loft, Durston and Without A Fight.

The Cup is now only a week away and there is some fantastic racing on Saturday. Wishing everyone lots of winners!

Jo Jackson