Andrew Ramsden Stakes Race Information

The Andrew Ramsden Stakes is a 2800 metre race for three-year-old and upwards run by the Victorian Racing Club in May. It is held at Flemington and the winner is exempt from ballot in the Melbourne Cup

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 2800 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 3YO and upwards
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $500,000
  • Date: Saturday 18 May 2024

Andrew Ramsden Stakes Race History

See the 2024 Andrew Ramsden Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 Andrew Ramsden Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Andrew Ramsden Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2021 Andrew Ramsden Stakes Preview and results.

Originally known as the Duke Of Norfolk stakes, the race was originally held as an open handicap over 2 miles (3200m) and was renamed the Andrew Ramsden Stakes in 2005 to honour a former VRC chairman. After the 2018 running, significant changes were made with a reduction to the current 2800m distance, a change to weight-for-age plus a restriction to only have three, four and five-year-olds running.

It is a “Golden Ticket” race which gives the winner exemption from the ballot in the Melbourne Cup.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Lunar Flare (2023)

Multiple winners: Unchain My Heart (2013 & 2014); Pantani (2004 & 2005)

Fastest time (2800m): Oceanex (2020) 2:54:82

Interesting trivia: In 2000 it was run as the Queen’s Cup at Group 3 level for that year only.

Past winners of the Andrew Ramsden Stakes

Winners of past Andrew Ramsden Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 The Map Mostly Cloudy Excelleration
2023 Lunar Flare White Marlin Hasta La War
2022 Point Nepean Luncies Through Irish Eyes
2021 Realm Of Flowers Grand Promenade Miami Bound
2020 Oceanex King Of Leogrance Super Girl
2019 Steel Prince Surprise Baby Eastender
2018 Sin To Win Swacadelic Chequered Flag
2017 De Little Engine Mujadale Like A Carousel
2016 Glorious Sinndar The Bandit De Little Engine
2015 La Amistad Sonntag Zabeelionaire
2014 Unchain My Heart Vatuvei Gotta Take Care
2013 Unchain My Heart Wells Thubiaan
2012 Dame Claire Maythehorsebemagic Crafty Cruiser
2011 Niwot I’m Jake Norsqui
2010 Persian Star Ajhar Come On Cugat
2009 Phaze Action Ladies In Luck Tangalooma
2008 Gorky Park Doubly Sure Go And Get
2007 New Kid In Town Dolphin Jo Sentire
2006 Derringer Desert Master Prince Dande Lion
2005 Pantani Bondy Elwood
2004 Pantani Terouge Lester Thunderwing
2003 Heguy Bold Bard Wazza Star
2002 Cavallo Bruno Soldier Blue Soldado
2001 Starpro Naucho Zabuan
2000 Sky Trist Defence Force Kiddlewick
1999 Zabuan Navajo Flash Sky Trist
1998 Noble Benbara Zdenka Voodoo Beat
1997 Sovereign Lira Marine Boy Bright Spot
1996 Shatin Heights Cornwall King Tsavo
1995 Daacha Cavarelle Strike High
1994 Rich Dreams Happy Bout Dat Sweet Glory
1993 Young Pirate Rich Dreams Notwithstanding
1992 London Bridge