The Bart Cummings Race Information

The The Bart Cummings is a 2500 metre quality handicap race run by the Victoria Racing Club in early October. It is held at Flemington as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 2500 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $500,000
  • Date: Saturday 3 October 2020

The Bart Cummings Race History

The Bart Cummings is one of five races that offer Melbourne Cup ballot-exemption. (The others are the Andrew Ramsden, Caulfield Cup, Cox Plate and the Lexus Stakes.)

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Amelie’s Star (2017)

Multiple winners: Light Vision (2008 & 2009)

Fastest time (2500m): Avilius (2001) 2:35:43

Leading trainers : Robert Hickmott with 3 wins (Almandin 2016; Tamby 2012; Mourayan 2011)

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the The Bart Cummings

Winners of past The Bart Cummings include Surprise Baby (2019), Avilius (2018), Almandin (2016), Who Shot Thebarman (2014), Tanby (2012), Mourayan (2011), Light Vision (2008/2009), Dolphin Jo (2007) and Vicksburg (2003).

Year Winner Second Third
2020 Persan Sound Steel Prince
2019 Surprise Baby Supernova Wolfe
2018 Avilius Jaameh Yogi
2017 Amelie’s Star Granddukeoftuscany Kellstorm
2016 Almandin Zanteca Excess Knowledge