Bendigo Cup Race Information

The Bendigo Cup is a 2400 metre open handicap race run by the Bendigo Jockey Club in late October. It is held at Bendigo as part of the Victorian Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 2400 metres
  • Conditions: Open handicap
  • Track: Bendigo Racecourse, Bendigo, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $500,000
  • Date: Wednesday 1 November 2023

Bendigo Cup Race History

See the 2023 Bendigo Cup Preview and results

See the 2022 Bendigo Cup Preview and results

See the 2021 Bendigo Cup Preview and results

See the 2020 Bendigo Cup Preview and results

It was first run in 1946 and was won by a horse called Skyway. It became a Listed race in 1982 and was upgraded to a Group 3 race in 2015.

Run 6 days before the Melbourne Cup it is often targeted by horses still hoping to get into the final field of 24.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: High Emocean (2022)

Multiple winners: Gallic (2004 & 2006); Most Regal (1952 & 1953)

Fastest time (2400m): Ice Doctor (1994) 2:27:2

Interesting trivia: The 1987 winner Flying Eskimo was trained by Paddy Payne and ridden by his daughter Therese Payne.

Past winners of the Bendigo Cup

Winners of past Bendigo Cups include Francis Of Assisi (2016), The Offer (2015), Sertorius (2013), Puissance De Lune (2012), Tanby (2011), Gallic (2004 & 2006), Frontier Boy (1993), Summer Fleur (1980), Snowstream Lass (1965), Most Regal (1952 & 1953) and Manakau (1947).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Interpretation Brayden Star Taramansour
2022 High Emocean Port Philip Verimli
2021 Wentwood Smokin’ Romans Taramansour
2020 Princess Jenni Pondus Haky
2019 Top Of The Range Brimham Rocks Hang Man
2018 Red Alto Dal Harraild Sir Charles Road
2017 Qewy Kiwia Foundry
2016 Francis of Assisi Second Bullet Our Century
2015 The Offer Divan Kirramosa
2014 Bring Something Massiyn Order Of The Sun
2013 Sertorius Massiyn Kesampour
2012 Puissance De Lune Practiced Fiumicino
2011 Tanby At First Sight Western Symbol
2010 Dream Pedlar My Bentley Zauberin
2009 Zupacool Crossthestart Daka’s Gem
2008 Banana Man Imvula Butwaittheresmore
2007 Captious Hoodlum On A Jeune
2006 Gallic Brindabella Home Sweet
2005 True Courser Belzain Garidar
2004 Gallic Jakodae Diamond Jake
2003 Western Waters Chairmans Choice Mr Prudent
2002 Forlorna Fearless Sophie Time Off
2001 Saboteur Betta Watch It Never Dull
2000 Yammer Western Outlaw Jamestown
1999 Majestic Avenue Jamestown Bohemiath
1998  ** Race not run **
1997 Napier Street My Sartorial Northern Embossing
1996 Cockade Sovereign Lira The Red Man