Australian Derby Race Information

The ATC Australian Derby (ATC Derby) continues the great Autumn Racing in April at Sydney’s Randwick Racecourse. The Australian Derby is run for three-year-old thoroughbreds at set weights and is contested over 2,400 metres.

  • Race Type: Group 1
  • Distance: 2400 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights 3YOs
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $2,000,000
  • Date: Saturday 6 April 2024

Australian Derby Race History

See the 2024 Australian Derby Preview and results.

See the 2023 Australian Derby Preview and results.

See the 2022 Australian Derby Preview and results.

See the 2021 Australian Derby Preview and results.

The Derby has changed its name many times over the years including AJC Randwick Derby Stakes, 1861 to 1864; AJC Australia Derby Stakes, 1865 to 1872; AJC Derby, 1873 to 1993;  AJC Australian Derby from 1994 to 2011 and currently the ATC Australian Derby.

The winners of the 2024 Randwick Guineas and 2024 Rosehill Guineas are exempt from ballot. The winner of this race is exempt from ballot for the 2024 Queen Elizabeth Stakes.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Shamrocker (2011)

Fastest time (2400m): Octagonal (1996) 2:28:40

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Australian Derby

Some of the greats of the Australian turf who have won the Derby Day trophy include Phar Lap, 1929; Tulloch, 1957; and Kingston Town, 1980. Jockey Tom Hales has the most victories. He rode six winners between 1875 and 1887. The fastest Derby over 2400 metres was run by Octagonal in 2.28.4 in 1996. The slowest was by Bonecrusher in 1986 in 2.35.6.

Other recent winners include: Eremein, 2005; Starcraft, 2004; Clangalang, 2003; Don Eduardo, 2002; Universal Prince, 2001; Fairway, 2000; Sky Heights, 1999; Gold Guru, 1998 and Ebony Grosve, 1997.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Riff Rocket Ceolwulf Glad You Think So
2023 Major Beel Virtuous Circle Suizuro
2022 Hitotsu Benaud Alegron
2021 Explosive Jack Young Werther Lion’s Roar
2020 Quick Thinker Zebrowski Eric The Eel
2019 Angel Of Truth Madison County Surely Sacred (NZ)
2018 Levendi Ace High Tangled
2017 Jon Snow (NZ) Harper’s Choice Hardham
2016 Tavago (NZ) Jameka Tally
2015 Mongolian Khan Hauraki Volkstok’n’barrell (NZ)
2014 Criterion (NZ) Tupac Amaru Hooked
2013 It’s A Dundeel (NZ) Philippi Kingdoms (NZ)
2012 Ethiopia Polish Knight Laser Hawk
2011 Shamrocker Retrieve Anacheeva
2010 Shoot Out Descarado Monaco Consul
2009 Roman Emperor Harris Tweed Predatory Pricer
2008 Nom De Jeu Red Ruler Littorio
2007 Flumicino Ambitious General Tuesday Joy
2006 Headturner De Beers Testafiable
2005 Eremein Stella Grande Railings
2004 Starcraft Braeloch Delzao
2003 Clangalang Strasbourg Mummify
2002 Don Eduardo Carnegie Express Pentastic
2001 Universal Prince Sir Clive Danamite
2000 Fairway Shogun Lodge Now Voyager

From the archives:

Australian Derby Preview & Tips 2020

Track: Soft    Weather: Fine

There are 12 runners for the $1,000,000 Bentley Australian Derby. Normally this race carries prizemoney of $2,000,000 but it has been halved for 2020 as racing deals with the unprecedented challenges of the coronavirus pandemic. Six of them had their last start in the Rosehill Guineas on 21 March and three had their last start in the Tulloch Stakes on 28 March. The clear favourite is Rosehill Guineas winner Castelvecchio who won the Group 1 Champagne Stakes at this track as a two-year-old. Second favourite is Shadow Hero who was 4th in the Rosehill Guineas after a good win in the Randwick Guineas. Third favourite is  Warning who will have no problem with the distance as he won the 2019 Victoria Derby by over 3 lengths. He finished 5th in both the Randwick Guineas and Rosehill Guineas.

Quick Thinker won the Tulloch Stakes last week on a slow track. Sherwood Forest was 7th in the Rosehill Guineas but was a good winner of the Group 1 NZ Derby at the start before. Zebrowski won races at Newcastle and Kensington before finishing 2nd in the Tulloch Stakes. Eric The Eel won a 2200m open race at Doomben last start and has two wins and a place from his last three starts. All other runners are currently 30 to 1 or longer.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
1 Castelvecchio
2 Shadow Hero
5 Eric The Eel
3 Warning