Wangoom Handicap Race Information

The Wangoom Handicap is a 1200 metre open handicap race run by the Warrnambool Racing Club in early May. It is held at Warrnambool as part of their three day country Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Open handicap
  • Track: Warrnambool Racecourse, Warrnambool, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Wednesday 1 May 2024

Wangoom Handicap Race History

See the 2024 Wangoom Handicap Preview and results.

See the 2023 Wangoom Handicap Preview and results.

See the 2022 Wangoom Handicap Preview and results.

See the 2021 Wangoom Handicap Preview and results.

There are different references to when this race was first run but it appears to be in 1880. The race was first held under the name of Wangoom Handicap over 1600m on 11 May 1886 at the Warrnambool Autumn Race Carnival and was won by a horse called Speculation. In 1888 it was run over 1200m for the first time.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Kneeling (2014)

Multiple winners: Second Effort (2012 & 2013); Point Danger (2001 & 2002); Night Of Oscar (1986 & 1987); Wandle (1974, 1975 & 1976); Star Banner (1959 & 1960); Pom Pom (1923, 1924 & 1925); Battleplane (1919, 1920 & 1922); Verne (1900 & 1922); Dictator (1898 & 1899); Reality (1895 & 1896).

Fastest time (1200m): Handsome Thief (2018) 1:11:09

Interesting trivia: Race not held from 1942 to 1946 because of World War 2.

Past winners of the Wangoom Handicap

Winners of past Wangoom Handicap include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Tuvalu It’sourtime Flash Flood
2023 Outlaws Revenge Frankie Pinot Sacred Palace
2022 Frankie Pinot Inn Keeper Showmanship
2021 Inn Keeper Dexelation Simply Optimistic
2020 Order Of Command Superhard Inn Keeper
2019 I Am Someone Malibu Style This Kid Rocks
2018 Handsome Thief Stellar Collision Bassett
2017 Ulmann Stellar Collision Well Sprung
2016 Yesterday’s Songs Royal Island Mirage
2015 Royal Island Magnus Lad Taddei Tondo
2014 Kneeling Blackie Magnus Reign
2013 Second Effort That’s The One Dash For Viz
2012 Second Effort Wealth Princess Glaneuse
2011 Uxorious Stanzout Philda
2010 Stanzout Bocuse I’m A Hussy
2009 Arch Symbol Bocuse Time Matters
2008 Lancet Roman’s Image Monet Rules
2007 Judusk Chiack Roubechon
2006 Gunner Tom Straight Legs Pretty Penny
2005 McCarthy’s Bar Youthful Mr Billy
2004 Holding Kashkii Grundy’s Crossing
2003 Confederate Kid Energy Abounds Sedation
2002 Point Danger Paris Rock Mr Magoo
2001 Point Danger La Mookta Corvain
2000 Amber Boy Nobility Angel’s Jewel
1999 Grand Baie Ramadan Go Davo Go
1998 M’Selle De Enz More Action Go Davo Go
1997 Bellzevir Video Prince Sir Swayze
1996 South Ridge Just Sterling Check The Coast
1995 Peg’s Gift Sir Swayze Pay The Kings
1994 Chimely Time Aquafy Front Rank
1993 Pay The Kings Silver Neon Darling
1992 Minyama Pay The Kings Afghan Rebel