VRC Winter Championship Race Information

The VRC Winter Championship is a 1600 metre open handicap race for three-year-olds and upwards run by the Victorian Racing Club in July. It is held at Flemington as one of the feature events of the meeting.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Open handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 1 July 2023

VRC Winter Championship Race History

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Iggimacool (2016)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Doubtful Jack (2010); Filly – ?

Multiple winners: Glaneuse (2011 & 2012);

Fastest time (1600m): Magic Consol (2001) 1:35:25

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the VRC Winter Championship

Winners of past VRC Winter Championships include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Riddle Me That Charterhouse Frankie Pinot
2022 Tuvalu Sir Davy Mystery Shot
2021 Mongolian Marshal Furrion Biometric
2020 Sircconi Polly Grey Victoria Star
2019 Reykjavik Romancer Holbien
2018 Magic Consol Moss ‘N’ Dale Galaxy Raider
2017 Tshahitsi Amovatio Sovereign Nation
2016 Iggimacool Petrology Onpicalo
2015 Amovatio Mr Utopia Coronation Shallan
2014 Akavoroun The Cleaner Gig
2013 Magnifique Soleil Clanga’s Glory Another Prelate
2012 Glaneuse Galileo Gold There’s Only One
2011 Glaneuse Riceman Rocky Times
2010 Doubtful Jack Pinnacles Riceman
2009 Gold Salute Benelli Famous Roman
2008 Sea Battle Rockpecker Magnetic
2007 Hillston Exchange Ista Kareem Haddle McDaddle
2006 Chitabe Haddle McDaddle Hillston Exchange
2005 Salsa Milkshake Live In Vain
2004 Capadan Charnwood Green Storm Attack
2003 Ebony Night Le Zagaletta Wyngrove
2002 The Big Ask Little Dozer Storm Attack
2001 Prince Benbara Jugahtrice Delirious
2000 Mystic Morse Storm Rebel Like The Look