VRC St Leger Race Information

The VRC St Leger is a 2800 metre set weights race for three-year-olds run by the Victoria Racing Club in April. It is held at Flemington as one of the feature races of the Anzac Day meeting.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 2800 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 3YOs
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Thursday 25 April 2024

VRC St Leger Race History

See the 2024 VRC St Leger Preview and results.

See the 2023 VRC St Leger Preview and results.

See the 2022 VRC St Leger Preview and results.

The race was first held in 1857 and was won by a horse called Artaxerxes. It held Group 2 status from 1980 to 1990 then was a Group 3 race from 1991 to 2005. It was downgraded to the current Listed status from 2006. It was originally considered to be a Group 1 level race.

In 2023 the Anzac Day meeting at Flemington was cancelled out of respect for the family of jockey Dean Holland who died in a tragic accident in the opening race at Donald the day before. This race was rescheduled over 3000m at Sandown Hillside on the following Saturday.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Exceptionally (2010)

Fastest time (2800m): Sunday Gold (1999) 2:54:8

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the VRC St Leger

Winners of past VRC St Legers include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Ahuriri Alma Rise Sambucus
2023 Dunwoody Highland Blaze Midnight Glow
2022 Alegron The Cunning Fox Fearentless
2021 Through Irish Eyes Salto Angel Favreau
2020 Sacramento Saint Eustace Wahine Toa
2019 Transact Rock Dove American In Paris
2018 Runaway Rezealient Wolfe Tone
2017 Dornier Partesia High Mode
2016 Cool Chap Etymology Bullish Stock
2015 Authoritarian Cuban Fighter Gifted Lad
2014 Order of the Sun Honey Steel’s Gold Throw The King
2013 Hippopus McNulty Bessano
2012 Vatuvei Practiced About The Journey
2011 Right Of Refusal Almodovar Weighted
2010 Exceptionally Gallant Lady Sherpa Tenzing
2009 Berlioz Precedence Buffett
2008 Inkster
Moment In Time
 * dead-heat 1st Fast Ruler
2007 Lazer Sharp Speelberg Ballack
2006 Dolphin Jo Mr Bigalow Prince Dande Lion
2005 Accumulate Rock Of Arches Middlemarch
2004 Desert Clearance Northface Fort Knox
2003 Sir Pentire Dance On Wood Gleeti
2002 Grey Song Pantani Minogue
2001 Big Pat Rum Silver Banjo
2000 Teddy Bear Narcissism Donarch
1999 Sunday Gold Our Position Miss Charmer
1998 Bohemiath Our Unicorn Tumble Home
1997 Wexford Pharynx Prince Baracus
1996 St Shannon Much Ado Russian Trader
1995 Count Chivas Zero Limit Storm
1994 Gossips Ashley Grove Centico
1993 Headcutter Palace Symphony Strike High
1992 Dark Ksar Subzero Beau Aaron
1991 Shiva’s Revenge Grooming Ena’s Way
1990 Frontier Boy Double Gin Northwood Blue
1989 Waiau Pal Imperial Salute Son Of Carringbush
1988 Full At Last Sound Gold Might
1987 Shark’s Fin Sir Fawn Cool Rock’n Daddy
1986 Enchanteur Fordyce Mighty Dom
1985 Waratah Bay Tripsacum Iridescence
1984 Katie’s Boy Make Me Famous Not Declared
1983 Lady Plutus Declare Dynamo
1982 Gurner’s Lane King Arthur Hapsburg
1981 Rio De Janeiro Tristino Velkara
1980 Shogun Range Rover Mr Independent
1979 Rough ‘N’ Tough Moon Hawk March To Glory
1978 So Called Lefroy Becidium
1977 Vacuum Yashmak Hyperno
1976 Lord Dudley Recollect Valadero
1975 Taras Bulba Shiftmar Open Bowler
1974 Herminia Wicked Way King Rag
1973 Godfather Cardinal Court Arabian Breeze
1972 Stop The Show Best Love Hipppomedon
1971 Trader Dario Silver Sharpe
1970 Epidaurus Top Flat General
1969 King Pedro Arctic Symbol Fils Du Monde
1968 Agena Savoy Wartax
1967 Khalif Garcon Caveat Emptor
1966 Prince Grant Tobin Bronze Midlander
1965 Versailles Dalento Park Lane
1964 Better Lad Sir Dane Enderby
1963 King Cobbler Petard Arctic Star
1962 Hansie Marco Khan Blue Era
1961 Reinsman Myzami Persian Lyric
1960 Nilarco Travel Boy Dhaulagiri
1959 Chicola Sir Blink But Beautiful
1958 Tulloch Tuki Wool Man
1957 Summalu Fiddler’s Green Olympic Fire
1956 Sailor’s Guide Glitzern Arbolado
1955 Pride Of Egypt Dunsinane Eight Bells
1954 Cromis Cerbere El Tirador
1953 Arbroath Advocate Wodalla
1952 Hydrogen Lady Havers High Law
1951 Midway Alister Zethos
1950 Delta Playboy Front Line
1949 Comic Court Carbon Copy Clement
1948 Lungi Fresh Boy Anthelion
1947 Amelia Star Act Skyrocks
1946 Gay Lad Don Pedro Star Knight
1945 New Yorker Bootie Provoke
1944 Lawrence Sirius Precept
1943 Amazed Illyrian East End
1942 High Road Primavera Skipton
1941 Tranquil Star Lucrative Positron
1940 Reading High Caste Mac Rob
1939 Tempest Respirator Gay Prince
1938 Hua Pantoon
1937 Peerage Prince Quex Boongarry
1936 Allunga Viceroy Young Idea
1935 Sylvandale Ferndale Contact
1934 Hall Mark
 * dead heat 1st Lit Queen
1933 Oratory Metallurgy Eastern Chief
1932 Middle Watch Ammon Ra Perinthus
1931 Veilmond Ballon King Carry On
1930 Phar Lap Sir Ribbie Lineage
1929 Strephon Prince Don Balmerino
1928 Trivalve Chariot Tordilla
1927 Epilogue Lanson Cyanate
1926 Belgamba Redshank Ellaline
1925 Spearfelt Wycherley The Slave
1924 Sandringham Drongo Frances Tressady
1923 Caserta Kingsfield Scarlet
1922 Furious Harvest King Heir Apparent
1921 Nautical Salitros The Warbler
1920 Artilleryman Sinbad the Sailor
Whiz Bang
 * dead heat 2nd