The Shorts Race Information

The Shorts is an 1100 metre set weights plus penalties race run by the Australian Turf Club held in September. It is run at Randwick as part of the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1100 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $1,000,000
  • Date: Saturday 16 September 2023

The Shorts Race History

See the 2023 The Shorts Preview and results

See the 2022 The Shorts Preview and results

See the 2021 The Shorts Preview and results

Coming soon.

Fun Facts

Last mare to win; Hot Danish (2010)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Tipperary Star (1961); Filly – Mother Duck (1987)

Multiple winners: Kings Favourite (1976 & 1977); Nagpuni (1953 & 1954); Winnipeg 91941 & 1944); Calmest (1926 & 1927); Greenstead (1919 & 1921); Gigandra (1912, 1914 & 1915)

Fastest time (1100m): Redzel (2017) 1:01:83

Interesting trivia: Ball of Muscle ran 2nd in this race in 2015, 2016 and 2017 before he finally won it as his 4th attempt in 2018. The Albatross survived a protest from Caesar in 1939.

Past winners of The Shorts

Many Group 1 winners have won the Shorts and many others have become Group 1 winners later on.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Private Eye Overpass Buenos Noches
2022 Nature Strip Overpass Lost And Running
2021 Eduardo Nature Strip Gytrash
2020 Classique Legend Eduardo Bivouac
2019 Pierata Classique Legend Redzel
2018 Ball Of Muscle Invincible Star Brave Smash
2017 Redzel Ball Of Muscle Nieta
2016 Takedown Ball Of Muscle Kaepernick
2015 Rebel Dane Ball Of Muscle Shiraz
2014 Terravista I’m All The Talk Famous Seamus
2013 Sessions Aeronautical Spirit Of Boom
2012 Pampelonne Satin Shoes Appearance
2011 Love Conquers All Albert the Fat Winter King
2010 Hot Danish Whitefriars Shellscrape
2009 Gold Trail Fritz’s Princess Sniper’s Bullet
2008 Fritz’s Princess Hot Danish Keen Commander
2007  ** Race not run **
2006 Bentley Biscuit Magnus Spark Of Life
2005 Black Ink Mustard Fumble
2004 Dance the Waves Secret Land Legally Bay
2003 Lucky Night Fair Embrace Poetic Papal
2002 Empire Shags Fouardee
2001 Oamaru Force Pembleton Fair Embrace
2000 Bradshaw Guineas Upright
1999 Ab Initio Staging Padstow
1998 Mulugwa Appoint Dual Photon
1997 Hot As Hell Regal Centre Unison
1996 Madison Point Identikit Monopolize
1995 Moss Rocket Sword Rouslan
1994 Legal Agent All Our Mob The Heavyweight
1993 Chiliad Klokka Spanish Mix
1992 Classic Magic Mighty Century Wonga’s Joy
1991 Euclase All Archie Final Card
1990 Rise ‘N’ Shine All Stormy Targlish
1989 Rigoletto Roman Senator Alpine Flyer
1988 Potter McQueen Here’s The Point Pleasant Flight
1987 Mother Duck Dream Faith Arbalest
1986 Blazing Keel Slave Trader Break Dancer
1985 Bemboka Spirit Whinavi Let Me Tell
1984 Spritely Knight Vain Karioi La Caissiere
1983 Loch Ard Prince Harvey Red Currant
1982 Marquee Star Kabul Razor Sharp
1981 Trench Digger Proud Knight Manuan
1980 Hit It Benny Rodeo Drive Clubs Are Trumps
1979 Biscawong Bagelle Radiant Echo
1978 Tangfu Monreale Count Rajan
1977 King’s Favourite Galway Bay Blue’s Finito
1976 King’s Favourite Space Travel Hessel Saxby
1975 Purple Patch Top Charger Rathdowney
1974 Scarlet Man Starplus Just James
1973 Starplus Queer Street Gay Blade
1972 Kista Swift Purpose Playbill
1971 Welsh Prince Crown Law Swift Purpose
1970 King Bogan Glen Roto Karachi
1969 Grey Court Lucifina Constant Rhythm
1968 Somebody Prince Gauntlet Karachi
1967 Betelgeuse Foresight McLauchlin
1966 Redcap Regal Prince Bogan Star
1965 Levitator Aureo Skid
1964 Ferguson Aerial Rush Bye
1963 Port Fair Borneo Aureo
1962 Rush Bye Young Brolga Icebound
1961 Tipperary Star Front Cover Kamikaze
1960 Merry Polly French Descent Mt. Royal
1959 Winchester Great Blaze Akatarawa
1958 Cornelius Grey Ghost Right Way
1957 Reign Aboukir My Peter
1956 Aboukir Passing Cloud King Boru
1955 Lindbergh Arkban Spearby
1954 Nagpuni Spearby Rapid River
1953 Nagpuni Lucky Stride Hesdin
1952 Burncourt Joy Lad Cultured
1951 Free Rule Carriole Warrah King
1950 Warrah King Cognac Heroic Sovereign
1949 Phalanx Caruso Acquittal
1948 Comedy Prince Cognac Earl Pentheus
1947 Native Son Tactician Impudent
1946 Chaperone Warspite Earl Pentheus
1945 Warlock Tahmoor Tactician