The Roses Race Information

The Roses is a 2000 metre set weights race for three-year-old fillies run by the Brisbane Racing Club in May or June. It is held at Doomben as part of the Queensland Winter Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 2000 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 3YO fillies
  • Track: Doomben Racecourse, Brisbane, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $300,000
  • Date: Saturday 25 May 2024

The Roses Race History

See the 2024 The Roses Preview and results.

See the 2023 The Roses Preview and results.

See the 2022 The Roses Preview and results.

History coming soon.

Run over 1800m at Eagle Farm in June in 2021 and over 2000m at Doomben in May in 2022.

The Roses Facts

Fastest time (2000m): Palidamah (2002) 2:01:95

The Roses & Queensland Oaks: Scarlett Lady (2011); Ethereal (2001)

Interesting trivia: 2001 winner Ethereal went on to win the 2001 Caulfield and Melbourne Cups as a four-year-old. 2005 winner Cinque Centro and 2006 winner Gaze went on to quinella the 2007 Doomben Cup.

Past winners of The Roses

Winners of past The Roses include horses that go on to contest the Queensland Oaks

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Scarlet Oak Mare Of Mt Buller Miss  Joelene
2023 Fireburn Renaissance Woman Sakura Girl
2022 Barb Raider Belle Savoir Smirk
2021 Only Words Bargain Charms Star
2020 Vanna Girl Te Akau Shark Eckstein
2019 Etana Aliferous Welsh Legend
2018 Youngstar Another Dollar Highway
2017 Kenedna Oklahoma Girl Perilous Love
2016 Kebede Sebring Sally Imposing Lass
2015 Bohemian Lily Col ‘n’ Lil Whatalovelyday
2014 Arabian Gold Tinto Tornado Miss
2013 Dear Demi Gondokoro Vaquera
2012 Invest Miss Artistic Scorpio Queen
2011 Scarlett Lady Savannah’s Choice Divorces
2010 Marheta Femina Fashion Dariana
2009 Awesome Planet Ekstreme Purple
2008 Heavenly Glow Pentacity Miss Maren
2007 Lasoron My Ladys Chamber Eskimo Queen
2006 Gaze Upstaged Zenarta
2005 Cinque Cento Ponte Piccolo Fiery Sunset
2004 Natural Woman Charmview Imana
2003 The Jewel Crianca Domielle
2002 Palidamah Faiza Quays
2001 Ethereal Life Is Beautiful Dandify
2000 Avilde Miss Zoe Citirecruit
1999 Episode Elegant Beauty Shahne Tartan
1998 Melora Only A Lady Sister Theresa
1997 Queenstown Kate Shigeru Charlotte Jade Tights
1996 Ballare Spectacular Light Seek Glory