Tails Quality Race Information

The Tails Quality is a 1600 metre quality handicap race run by the Brisbane Racing Club in April. It is held at Doomben as part of the Brisbane Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Doomben Racecourse, Brisbane, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $125,000
  • Date: Saturday 24 April 2021

Tails Quality Race History

The race is a traditional launching pad for horses heading for the longer winter carnival races. In 2019 15 horses were nominated for the race and 10 of them were trained by Chris Waller.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: With A Promise (2018)

Fastest time (1600m): Single Gaze (2017) 1:35:96

Interesting trivia: Race not held in 2020 as it was ne of the races lost due to programming changes because of Covid-19.

Past winners of the Tails Quality

Winners of past Tails Qualitys include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2020  ** Race not held **
2019 Hallelujah Boy Cool Chap Fit For Purpose
2018 With A Promise Mr Epic Pelethronius
2017 Single Gaze Col ‘n’ Lil Cantbuybetter
2016 Bewhatyouwannabe Allknight Saint Sir Moments
2015 Sir Moments Hopfgarten Best Of The Rest
2014 Brave Ali Heartfelt Quest Secret Garden
2013 Margins Mukaddamah Son Trajet
2012  ** Race not held **
2011 Royal Reign Little Stranger Winmara
2010  ** Race not held **
2009 Go Cart Rabbuka Drumshanbo
2008 Rezone Monashee Princess Nellie Got There
2007 Point Made Palace Lover Ready When You Are
2006 Aidan James Sir Coup High Academy
2005 Anne Carina Just Polite Chinbok
2004 Plaudits General Minolta Diamond Hill
2003 Another Warrior Victory Ranger Republic
2002 Flying Sparks Lottery Prize Sailor’s Lark
2001 Manzeal Spirit Of Westbury Kazakh Belle
2000 Zatella I Reign Supreme Kugelhopf