Stutt Stakes Race Information

The Stutt Stakes is a 1600 metre set weights plus penalties race for three-year-olds run by the Moonee Valley Racing Club in September. It is run at Moonee Valley as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YOs
  • Track: Moonee Valley, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $300,000
  • Date: Friday 29 September 2023, night meeting

Stutt Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Stutt Stakes Preview and results

See the 2022 Stutt Stakes Preview and results

See the 2021 Stutt Stakes Preview and results

Coming soon

Fun Facts

Last filly to win; St Clemens Belle (1998). She deadheated with Helm

Fastest time (1600m): Almurtajaz (1988) 1:34:7

Bill Stutt & Caulfield Guineas: Whobegotyou (2008); Helenus (2002); Red Anchor (1984); Surround (1976); Beau Sovereign (1971); Storm Queen (1966); Star Affair (1965); Lady Sybil (1960); Phoibus (1948); Attley (1945)

Interesting trivia: Helenus (2002) is the only horse to win the Stutt Stakes, Caulfield Guineas, AAMI Vase and Victoria Derby.

Past winners of the Stutt Stakes

Some great horses have won the Stutt Stakes.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Griff Verdad Autumn Angel
2022 Tijuana Foujita San Virtuous Circle
2021 Forgot You Mr Mozart Daily Bugle
2020 Glenfiddich Cherry Tortoni Holyfield
2019 The Holy One Vegas Knight Conqueror
2018 Leonardo Da Hinchi Muswellbrook Mark The House
2017 Showtime Salsamor Holy Snow
2016 Hey Doc Land Of Plenty Kaching
2015 Sovereign Nation Get The Picture Gredington
2014 Almalad Moonovermanhattan Kumaon
2013 Divine Calling Shamus Award Cluster
2012 Pierro Carringbush Jack Jimando
2011 Chase The Rainbow Cute Emily Sabrage
2010 Hollowlea Run For Levi Bullbars
2009 Carrara Extra Hero Miss With Attitude
2008 Whobegotyou All American Carnero
2007 Barbaricus Davcon Cecconi
2006 Churchill Downs Magic Jet Ankh Morpork
2005 Red Dazzler Stratum Maybe Better
2004 Mr Martini Under Command Danaurum
2003 Casual Pass Special Harmony Face Value
2002 Helenus Aint Here Half Hennessy
2001 Viscount Dash For Cash Amalfi
2000 Sarson Trail Keeper Make Me A Miracle
1999 Diatribe Align Mr Endurance
1998 St Clemens Belle Spectacular Gold Helm
1997 Schubert Bonfires Kalastaire
1996 Encosta De Lago My Duke Mustang Ranch
1995 Burrito Donar Aerosmith
1994 Blevic St Covet Punctual
1993 Pearl Prince Kendel Star Battle Hawk
1992 Bundy Lad Palace Symphony Redding
1991 Ready To Explode Tierce Our Bold Cruiser
1990 Canny Lad Bureaucracy Storaia
1989 Zabeel Dr Grace Courtza
1988 Almurtajaz Big Grey Roo Star Watch
1987 Sky Chase Kaapstad Rancho Ruler
1986 Broad Reach El Vaquero Imperial Baron
1985 Wellingham Hammer Metric Turmoil Campaign King
1984 Red Anchor Lord Of Camelot National Gallery
1983 Albany Bay Brummel Who Cobbobonee
1982 Holsam Covetous Fiesta Star
1981 Fearless Pride Copperama Rose Of Kingston
1980 Glenson Silver Bounty Soveriegn Red
1979 Rumour-Qui Lawman Jaffa Boy
1978 Karaman Grey Sapphire Kaysiboy
1977 Guns Away Ballyred Hartbalm
1976 Surround Savoir Family Of Man
1975 Denise’s Joy Toy Show Caboul
1974 Plush Royal Lustre Selenus
1973 Taj Rossi Purple Patch Bush Win
1972 Century Carnation For Me Fleet Endeavour
1971 Beau Sovereign Trifling Column
1970 Eastern Court Gay Icarus Message
1969 Daryl’s Joy Vain Wood Court Inn
1968 Always There Cedar King Crewman
1967 Fileur Shorengro Agena
1966 Storm Queen Pharaon Legal Boy
1965 Star Affair Diocletian Tobin Bronze
1964 L’Orage Boy Imago Gabadan
1963 Proteus Sir Dane Persian Opera
1962 Fuel Beauteous Tulloch’s Sister
1961 New Statesman Royal Belltor Native Statesman
1960 Lady Sybil Samson Cruiser
1959 Mardene Goglio Unquenchable
1958 San Remo Master Rane Misting
1957 Gay Saba Well Spent Good Summer
1956 Arab’s Choice Tudor Hill Heroic Fair
1955 French Charm Carbon Flight Talento