San Domenico Stakes Race Information

The San Domenico Stakes is an 1100 metre set weights plus penalties race for three-year-olds run by the Australian Turf Club in late August or early September. It is held at Rosehill at the start of the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1100 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YOs
  • Track: Rosehill Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $250,000
  • Date: Saturday 26 August 2023

San Domenico Stakes Race History

See the 2023 San Domenico Stakes Preview and results

See the 2022 San Domenico Stakes Preview and results

See the 2021 San Domenico Stakes Preview and results

See the 2020 San Domenico Stakes Preview and results

The race was first run as a Listed race in 1980 when it was won by Proud Knight. It was a Group 3 race in 1984 and 1984 then a Group 2 race from 1986 to 2004. It was downgraded to the current Group 3 status again in 2005. It wasn’t run in 1998.

The race used to be held on the same day as the Ming Dynasty Quality Handicap over 1400m for three-year-olds and the Group 3 Premier’s Cup over 1900m, but is now held on the same day as the  Group 3 Up And Coming Stakes.

San Domenico Stakes Facts

Last filly to win; Snitzerland (2012)

Fastest time (1100m): Japonisme (2015) 1:02:7

San Domenico Stakes & Coolmore Stud Stakes: Exceedance (2019)

Leading trainers: Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes with 3 wins (Exceedance 2019; Star Turn 2016; Nostradamus 2014)

Interesting trivia: 1997 winner General Nediym is the sire of 2003 winner Regimental Gal. In 1992 So And So was first past the post but was disqualified and Surtee was awarded the race. In 2021 when it was run at Kembla Grange, In The Congo set a new track record with his time of 1.05:69.

Past winners of the San Domenico Stakes

Winners of past San Domenico Stakes include Exceedance (2019), Graff (2018), Star Turn (2016), Japonisme (2015), Snitzerland (2012), Foxwedge (2011), Shellscrape (2009), Duporth (2008), Gold Edition (2006), Charge Forward (2004), Regimental Gal (2003), Mistegic (2001), Testa Rossa (1999), General Nediym (1997), Our Maizcay (1995), Tierce (1991), Show County (1989), Merimbula Bay (1988), Omnicorp (1987), Let’s Get Physical (1985), Sir Dapper (1983) and Black Shoes (1981).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Libertad Moravia Butch Cassidy
2022 Sweet Ride Nettuno Swiss Exile
2021 In The Congo Paulele Captivant
2020 Anders Peltzer Mamaragan
2019 Exceedance Bivouac Anaheed
2018 Graff Neutrality Performer
2017 Pariah Chauffeur Jorda
2016 Star Turn Tango Rain Kentucky Miss
2015 Japonisme King’s Troop Haptic
2014 Nostradamus Washington Heights Law
2013 Va Pensiero Cluster Windjammer
2012 Snitzerland Driefontein All Too Hard
2011 Foxwedge Anise Karuta Queen
2010 Obsequious Solar Charged Decision Time
2009 Shellscrape Sniplaz Kiss Me Katy
2008 Duporth Whitefriars Atomic Force
2007 Sliding Cube Mimi Lebrock Moonboat
2006 Gold Edition My Middi Astounded
2005 Media Written Tycoon Snitzel
2004 Charge Forward Fastnet Rock Dance Hero
2003 Regimental Gal Spark of Life Dorky
2002 Star Of Florida Chocolate Starfish Athelnoth
2001 Mistegic Fair Embrace Palais
2000 Zariz Dymamic Love Kootoomootoo
1999 Testa Rossa Easy Rocking Catamarca
1998  ** Race not run **
1997 General Nediym Sports Adeewin
1996 Sovereign State Clang Apple Danish
1995 Our Maizcay Strategic Millrich
1994 Lord Jim Flaming Hot Dapper Magic
1993 Sashed Moss Rocket Stormy Regent
1992 Surtee Klokka Monsieur
1991 Tierce Big Dreams Cloudlet
1990 Acecay Varikos Committal
1989 Show County Patronise Charles County
1988 Merimbula Bay Full And By Fortlin
1987 Omnicorp Sky Chase Golden Unicorn
1986 Gallery Level Pre Catelan Western Ace
1985 Let’s Get Physical Timothy Shankhill Lass
1984 Quiet Little Drink Bletchencore Princess Jocinda
1983 Sir Dapper Been There Yoyangamble
1982 Rosebrook Regal Karioi Sounds Of Morning
1981 Black Shoes Ideal Planet Wenona Princess
1980 Proud Knight John’s Hero Gay Rosalind