Up And Coming Stakes Race Information

The Up And Coming Stakes is a 1300 metre quality handicap race for three-year-old colts and geldings run by the Australian Turf Club in August. It is held at Rosehill and is the feature event of the program.

  • Race type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1300 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 3YO colts & geldings
  • Track: Rosehill Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales (Kembla Grange in 2021)
  • Prizemoney: $250,000
  • Date: Saturday 26 August 2023

Up And Coming Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Up And Coming Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Up And Coming Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2021 Up And Coming Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2020 Up And Coming Stakes Preview and results.

The Up And Coming Stakes was first run as a Listed race over 1200m at Warwick Farm racecourse in 1979 when it was won by Spear. It was upgraded to a Group 3 race in 1980, then to a Group 2 race in 1993. Since then it went back to a Group 3 in 2005, a Group 2 in 2013 and then back to a Group 3 from 2014 onwards. From 2011 onwards the distance was increased to 1300m. It has also been held at multiple venues. In 2021 is was held at Kembla Grange due to Covid-19 lockdowns in Sydney.

The race is often used as a return to racing for three-year-olds that showed talent during their two-year-old year, and some first-class gallopers have won this race. A few runners may have had a lead-up run in The Rosebud at Rosehill. Before 2014 it was run under set weights and penalties conditions and was restricted to colts and geldings, making it the male equivalent of the Toy Show Quality for fillies and mares.

In 2022 trainer Gai Waterhouse won this race for the 6th time with a gelding called Kibou.

Horses that run well in this race may go on to other three-year old races in the Spring like the Group 3 Spring Stakes at Newcastle, the Group 3 Gloaming Stakes, the Group 2 Stan Fox Stakes over 1500m or the Group 1 Golden Rose Stakes over 1400m.

The race is named after a horse called Up And Coming who won the Warwick Stakes (now called the Winx Stakes) back in 1959.

Up And Coming Stakes Facts

Fastest time (1300m): Dracarys (2017) 1:14.76

Up And Coming Stakes & Caulfield Guineas: Divine Prophet (2016); Our Maizcay (1995); Mahogany (1993)

Leading jockeys: Brian York with 4 wins (Newquay 2001; Zariz 2000; General Nediym 1997; Our Maizcay 1995).

Leading trainers: Gai Waterhouse had a record 5 winners in this race (Master Ash 2018; War 2013; Dreamscape 2008; Snowland 2002; Newquay 2001)

Interesting trivia: Superium was across the line first in 2019, but True Detective won on protest. 2017 winner Dracarys was sired by 2005 winner Snitzel. Dreamscape (2008) won this at his first race start. Not held in 2007 due to equine influenza. Held at Kembla Grange in 2021 due to Covid-19 lockdowns in Sydney.

Past winners of the Up And Coming Stakes

Winners of past Up And Coming Stakes include top class gallopers Snitzel (2005), Fastnet Rock (2004), Exceed and Excel (2003), Testa Rossa (1999), General Nediym (1997), Paint (1996), Our Maizcay (1995), Mahogany (1993), Kinjite (1991), Star Watch (1988), Sky Chase (1987), Sir Dapper (1983), Marscay (1982), Best Western (1981) and John’s Hero (1980).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Tom Kitten Kintyre Encap
2022 Kibou Golden Mile Basquiat
2021 Tiger Of Malay Coastwatch Construct
2020 North Pacific Bazooka Marsannay
2019 True Detective Superium Lucicello
2018 Master Ash Danawi Smart Elissim
2017 Dracarys Gold Standard Sanctioned
2016 Divine Prophet Derryn Thronum
2015 Shards Voilier Sebring Sun
2014 Scissor Kick Panzer Division Valentia
2013 War Drago Vilanova
2012 Albrecht Toydini Tatra
2011 Manawanui Queenian Detours
2010 Blackball Buffering Sea Lord
2009 Rarefied Shellscrape Offhanded
2008 Dreamscape Aichi Duporth
2007   ** Race not run **
2006 Court Command Stormpede Diego Garcia
2005 Snitzel Stratum Denmarket
2004 Fastnet Rock Dane Shadow Public Opinion
2003 Exceed and Excel Danbird Hipwell
2002 Snowland Thorn Park Star Of Florida
2001 Newquay Perfect Crime Excellerator
2000 Zariz Century Kid Kootoomootoo
1999 Testa Rossa Easy Rocking Align
1998 Paris Dream Laurie’s Lottery Scotty Locharber
1997 General Nediym Encounter Pleasure Giver
1996 Paint Armidale Sovereign State
1995 Our Maizcay Flying Spur Catalan Opening
1994 Bulldog Yeats Yallah’s Success Dapper Magic
1993 Mahogony Stormy Regent Jetball
1992 West End Centakima Surtee
1991 Kinjite On Kiley’s Run Skilful Star
1990 The Bullfighter Bureaucracy Wave Power
1989 Patronise Stylish Century Straussbrook
1988 Star Watch Full And By Ideal Score
1987 Sky Chase Christmas Tree High Regard
1986 Broad Reach Sea Swell Pre Catelan
1985 Timothy Silver Champagne Acumen
1984 Royal Troubador Bletchencore Futuristic
1983 Sir Dapper Been There Regal Advice
1982 Marscay Cossack Prince Karioi Star
1981 Best Western Fire Thunder Our Planet
1980 John’s Hero Proud Knight Impish Prince
1979 Spear Shogun Reason To Smile