Stan Fox Stakes Race Information

The Callander-Presnell (previously Stan Fox Stakes) is a 1500 metre set weights race for three=year-olds run by the Australian Turf Club in early October. It is run at Randwick as part of the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1500 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 3YOs
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $1,000,000
  • Date: Saturday 28 October 2023

Stan Fox Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Callander-Presnell Preview and results.

See the 2022 Callander-Presnell Preview and results.

Renamed the Callander-Presnell in 2022.

Coming soon.

Stan Fox Stakes Facts

Last filly to win; Wager (2004)

Fastest time (1500m): Diamond Dane (2001) 1:18:28

Interesting trivia: No Golden Slipper winner has ever won the Stan Fox Stakes.

Past winners of the Stan Fox Stakes

Winners of past Stan Fox Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Chrysaor Snowman Ducasse
2022 Golden Mile Communist A Lot More Love
2021 Hilal Coastwatch Brigantine
2020 Peltzer Prime Star Jet Propulsion
2019 Colada Brandenburg Bottega
2018 Tarka Dealmaker The Autumn Sun
2017 Gold Standard Sanctioned Addictive Nature
2016 Impending Divine Prophet Good Standing
2015 Press Statement Shards Rageese
2014 Shooting To Win Scissor Kick Valentia
2013 Eurozone Criterion Aussies Love Sport
2012 Kabayan Albrecht Divine Moon
2011 Manawanui Roma Giaconda Cocky Raider
2010 Decision Time Top Drop Halekulani
2009 Denman Run For Naara More Than Great
2008 Dreamscape Whitefriars Judge Me Not
2007  ** Race not run **
2006 Court Command Antidotes Cinque
2005 Paratroopers Primus Testafiable
2004 Wager Spirit of Tara Swick
2003 Ambulance Classy Dane Hasna
2002 Rare Insight Magic Marvo Choisir
2001 Lonhro Magic Albert Stylish Lass
2000 Dynamic Love Sale Of Century Ateates
1999 Pins Hire Easy Rocking
1998 Kenwood Melody Laurie’s Lottery Mr. Innocent
1997 General Nediym Pleasure Giver Trader Vic
1996 West Point Intergaze Monet’s Cove
1995 Octagonal Encores Ravarda
1994 Marwina Mamzelle Pedrille Dapper Spirit
1993 Campaign Warrior Dancing Dynamite Pimpala Son
1992 Ghost Story Flitter Atlantic Brave
1991 Greig Chortle Delphinus
1990 Sir Patrick Integra With Me
1989 Show County Pacific Union Shaftesbury Avenue
1988 From The Planet Mint Machine Temple Front
1987 High Regard Whiskey Supreme Cool Action
1986 Top Avenger Sound Horizon The American
1985 Crossroads Cenchire Swift Cheval
1984 Burraboolee Southport Vari’s Ace
1983 All Chant Crown And Anchor Fossicker
1982 Wild Rice Sweet Lorenz My Sharvain
1981 Note Of Victory Imite Province
1980 Integrity Kabul Snow Cloud
1979 Pink Posy Bold Mount Eton Gold
1978 Acamar Irish Will Ayala
1977 Big Treat Red Quill Lai Lai Girl
1976 Gentle James Sally’s Boy Blue And Gold
1975 Hydahban Hot Pursuit Red Trip
Effective System