Recognition Stakes Race Information

The Recognition Stakes is a 1350 metre quality handicap race hosted by the Tattersall’s Racing Club in late November. It is held at Doomben as part of the Queensland Summer Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1350 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap
  • Track: Doomben Racecourse, Brisbane, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $125,000
  • Date: Saturday 28 November 2020

Recognition Stakes Race History

The race dates back to a least 1978 when it was won by Regal Peak. Held over 1600m until 2015, 1400m in 2016 and raced over the current 1350m from 2017 onwards.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Traveston Girl (2015)

Multiple winners: Bold Endeavour (1985 & 1986)

Fastest time (1350m): Tambo’s Mate (2019) 1:18:36

Interesting trivia: Race not held in 2007. In 2005 there was a dead-heat for the win between Video Hits and Prosecution.

Past winners of the Recognition Stakes

Winners of past Recognition Stakes include horses that have above average ability.

Year Winner Second Third
2020 The Harrovian Red Chase Profit
2019 Tambo’s Mate Vega One Deep Image
2018 Niccanova Coldstone Sold For Song
2017 Crack Me Up Torgersen Hopfgarten
2016 Cylinder Beach Hopfgarten Feltre
2015 Traveston Girl Shotover River Blue Lion
2014 Rudy Grayson Square Darci Be Good
2013 Absalon Fillydelphia Elmantosh
2012 Jet Style Biggles Triple Six
2011 Wonderful Lass Carry Me Bluey Fillydelphia
2010 Pepperwood Listen Son Pyramids
2009 Secrets Untold Humma Pepperwood
2008 Rags To Riches Hey Elvis Jujulio
2007 **Race not held**
2006 Malta Rash Promise Picablu
2005 Video Hits /Prosecution Champion Star
2004 Kreisler’s Jewel Motivate Western Brace
2003 General Minolta Alfonso Experience
2002 Osca Warrior Laurinel Argie Final Intrigue
2001 Silent Assassin Kiwi Warrior Fetes Galantes
2000 Carnelian Ceremonial Dancer Mighty Cool
1999 Dapples Brighter Scene Brooklet Boy