George Moore Stakes Race Information

The George Moore Stakes is a 1200 metre quality handicap race run by the Brisbane Racing Club in early December. It is held at Doomben as part of the Brisbane Summer Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap
  • Track: Doomben Racecourse, Brisbane, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 2 December 2023

George Moore Stakes Race History

See the 2023 George Moore Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 George Moore Stakes Preview and results.

The race was first held as a Group 3 race over 1200m at Doomben in 1979 when it was called the XXXX Stakes and was won by a horse called Princess Reichen. It was downgraded to a Listed race from 1983 to 2000 but regained the Current Group 3 status in 2001. It has always been run at Doomben except for 2016 when it was held at Eagle Farm.

Over the years it has had various names including XXXX Stakes, Thornhill Park Stakes, L J Williams Quality Handicap, AWA Stakes, Summer Stakes and has been the George Moore Stakes from 2008 onwards.

Who was George Moore?

He was a champion international jockey and later horse trainer who was born in 1923 and began his career in Brisbane. He won the Doomben 10,000 a record five times amongst his many achievements. He passed away in 2008.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Basic French (1985)

Last 3YO to win: C&G Chief De Beers (1997); Filly – Princess Reichen (1979)

Multiple winners: Zoustyle (2023 & 2021); Chief De Beers (1994 & 1997); Mirraben (1987, 1988 & 1989)

Fastest time (1200m): Takeover Target (2005) 1:07:88

Interesting trivia: Race not held in 2010 due to the weather. Race not held in 2007 due to equine influenza.When Takeover Target won in 2005 he set a new track record for the 1200m. When Garibaldi won in 2022 it was the 5th win in the race for trainer Tony Gollan.

Past winners of the George Moore Stakes

Winners of past George Moore Stakes include I’m A Rippa (2018), Didntcostalot (2015), Big Money (2014), Lucky Hussler (2013), Burdekin Blues (2009), Natural Destiny (2006), Takeover Target (2005), Chief De Beers (1994 & 1997), Buck’s Pride (1992) and Mirraben (1987,1988 & 1989).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Zoustyle Rothfire Legal Esprit
2022 Garibaldi Contemptuous Axe
2021 Zoustyle Baller Stampe
2020 Hard Empire Jonker Outback Barbie
2019 Chapter And Verse Outback Barbie Boomsara
2018 I’m A Rippa Most Important Victorem
2017 Monsieur Gustave Calanda Snoopy
2016 Most Important Coolring Trubia
2015 Didntcostalot Gundy Spirit Fontelina
2014 Big Money Someday Cape Kidnappers
2013 Lucky Hussler Morning Captain Startsmeup
2012 Startsmeup Phelan Ready Morning Captain
2011 Adebisi Latin News Spirit Of Boom
2010  ** Race not run **
2009 Burdekin Blues Zero Rock Forestreno
2008 Friendly Embrace Daunting Lad Tour Guide
2007  ** Race not run **
2006 Natural Destiny Hard To Catch Tornado Alley
2005 Takeover Target Picardi Run Proudly Agro
2004 Show Biz Kid Sir Breakfast Karamazou
2003 Make Mine Magic Consular Forever Amen
2002 Baal Yabba Smart Chariot Diamond Dane
2001 Alpine Express Amaizcay Federal Agent
2000 Fine Action King Lotto Kanconcarne
1999 Major Victory Dash Of Bay City Fair
1998 City Hall Chief De Beers Roulette
1997 Chief De Beers Mulagwa Celestial Choir
1996 Rip Home City Slicker Chief De Beers
1995 Atlantic Crossing Spritely Jet Welsh Miner
1994 Chief De Beers Buck’s Pride Copper County
1993 Morden Tiny’s Finito Unequalled
1992 Buck’s Pride Petersfield Lad
1991 Turvey My Minister
1990 Gypsy Rogue
1989 Mirraben
1988 Mirraben
1987 Mirraben
1986 Paris Beau
1985 Basic French
1984 Fixed Flush
1983 Foreign Interest
1982 Marquee Star
1981 Handsome Prince
1980 Grand Rocky
1979 Princess Reichen