Prince Of Wales Stakes Race Information

The Prince Of Wales Stakes is a 1000 metre weight-for-age race run by the Western Australian Turf Club in late October or early November. It is held at Ascot as part of the Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1000 metres
  • Conditions: Weight-for-age, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Ascot Racecourse, Perth, Western Australia
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 4 November 2023

Prince Of Wales Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Prince Of Wales Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Prince Of Wales Stakes Preview and results.

It was first run in 1969 and was won by a horse called Sherolythe. It was upgraded to its current Group 3 status in 1979. It was run over 1200m up to 2015, and from 2016 the distance has been reduced to 1000m.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Flirtini (2019)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Real Mak (2006); Filly – Burgess Queen (1977)

Multiple winners: Dainty Tess (2017 & 2018); Waratah’s Secret (2010 & 2011); Idyllic Prince (2007 & 2009); Secret Remedy (2000 & 2001); Century Blazer (1995 & 1996)

Fastest time (1000m): Flirtini (2019) 0:58:09

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Prince Of Wales Stakes

Winners of past Prince Of Wales Stakes include Miss Andretti.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Snowdome Man Crush Red Can Man
2022 Miss Conteki This’ll Testya Indian Pacific
2021 Elite Street Stageman Indian Pacific
2020 Valour Road Essential Spice Rock Magic
2019 Flirtini Misty Metal Stageman
2018 Dainty Tess Lockroy Profit Street
2017 Dainty Tess Profit Street Dream Lifter
2016 Rock Magic Smoko Battle Hero
2015 Akhedasset Dawn Approach Magnifisio
2014 Elite Belle Barakey Checkpoint
2013 Barakey Power Princess Checkpoint
2012 Power Princess Luke’s Luck Playing God
2011 Waratah’s Secret Grand Nirvana King Kool Kat
2010 Waratah’s Secret Idyllic Prince For Your Eyes Only
2009 Idyllic Prince West River Charley Spirited One
2008 Dark Target Royal Lott Idyllic Prince
2007 Idyllic Prince Grasspatch Girl Stormed Out
2006 Real Mak Yaya Lad Wynyard Hall
2005 Miss Andretti Star Laser Electic
2004 Golden Delicious Rescuer Kaprats
2003 Kaprats Dead Eye Dick Hot Shot Brother
2002 Tribula Suspicion Kaprats
2001 Secret Remedy Old Comrade Mystery Command
2000 Secret Remedy Metal Master Surrender To Me
1999 Corporate Gun Rory’s Ratio Springtime Gold
1998 Double Blue Zedavite Willoughby
1997 Willoughby Double Blue Forge On
1996 Century Blazer Jacks Or Better Go The Grey
1995 Century Blazer Jacks Or Better Sir Tinka
1994 Jacks Or Better Bold Extreme Petite Amour
1993 Daring Hombre Pago Escort So Dashing
1992 Pago’s King Star Pet Doctor Golly
1991 M’Lady’s Jewel Island Gossip Caliway
1990 Mister Till Island Gossip Medicine Kid
1989 Carry A Smile Belele Jevtello
1988 Fimiston Sky Filou Barrakka