Eurythmic Stakes (previously Northerly Stakes) Race Information

The Northerly Stakes is a 1400 metre set weights plus penalties race for horses three-years-old and up run by the Western Australian Turf Club in October. It is held at Ascot as the feature event of the meeting.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Ascot Racecourse, Perth, Western Australia
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 21 October 2023

Northerly Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Eurythmic Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Eurythmic Stakes Preview and results.

The race was first run in 1978 and was won by a horse called Meliador. It was upgraded from a Listed race to a Group 3 race for the 2013 running.

It has been held over 1400m from 2001 onwards but was 1600m in 2000 and 1800m in 1999.

Renamed the Eurythmic Stakes in 2022

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Dance Music (2021)

Multiple winners: Megatic (2008 & 2009)

Fastest time (1400m): Ranger (2011) 1:21:45

Interesting trivia: The race was previously called the Anniversary Cup.

Past winners of the Northerly Stakes

Winners of past Northerly Stakes include Black Heart Bart (2015), Playing God (2013), King Saul (2012) and Megatic (2008 and 2009).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Karli’s Karma Valour Road Comfort Me
2022 Resortman Titan Blinders Massimo
2021 Dance Music Massimo Valour Road
2020 Taxagano Platoon Massimo
2019 The Velvet King Achernar Star Great Shot
2018 Man Booker Galaxy Star Great Shot
2017 Silverstream Great Shot Tradesman
2016 Lite’n In My Veins Ideal Image Perfect Reflection
2015 Black Heart Bart Wink And A Nod Resonates
2014 Fuchsia Bandana Miss Rose De Lago Balmont Girl
2013 Playing God Rohan Platinum Rocker
2012 King Saul Kerrific Maschino
2011 Ranger Waratah’s Secret Mega Steel
2010 Famous Roman Megatic Colour Correct
2009 Megatic Colour Correct London
2008 Megatic Tarzi I Command
2007 New Spice Jinx King West River Charley
2006 Grasspatch Girl Mr Diagnosis Daka’s Gem
2005 Changing Lanes Daka’s Gem Danny Blue
2004 Prince Of Vasac Blevvo Early Express
2003 Superior Star Mogul Kim Lisa
2002 Mr. Callahan Finito Zaheed
2001 Storm Shot Shoeless The Grey Cardinal
2000 Umah Moonrise Penghulu