Mode Stakes Race Information

The Mode Stakes is a 1200 metre quality handicap race for three-year-old fillies run by the Brisbane Racing Club in early December. It is held at Doomben as part of the Brisbane Summer Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 3YO fillies
  • Track: Doomben Racecourse, Brisbane, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $150,000
  • Date: Saturday 3 December 2022

Mode Stakes Race History

See the 2022 Mode Stakes Preview and results.

The race was first held in 2009 when it was won by Swiss Rose in a blanket finish. Port Macquarie filly Madeittothemoon was a short half-head 2nd and the favourite, Moama, was only a short neck away third. Trainer Gillian Heinrich had put blinkers on Swiss Rose for the first time and she was ridden by Brad Stewart. In 2010 the Doomben races were abandoned after the sixth race due to inclement weather and the race was not held.

Enquare, the 2013 winner, went on to win the Group 3 Vo Rogue Plate at her next start after winning this race which gave her four consecutive wins. Eckstein, the 2016 winner won 8 races and amassed over $1 million in prizemoney and ran 2nd in the 2017 Group 1 Myer Classic and the 2018 Magic Millions Fillies & Mares.  Outback Barbie, the 2018 winner won over $1.5 million before she was retired.

Useful Facts

Fastest time (1200m): Isotope (2020) 1:08:81

Leading jockeys: Jim Byrne with 3 wins (Outback Barbie 2018; Secret Saga 2015; Enquare 2013).

Leading trainers: Tony Gollan with 4 wins (Isotope 2020; Sugar Boom 2019; Outback Barbie 2018; Secret Saga 2015)

Interesting trivia: Race not held in 2010.

Past winners of the Mode Stakes

Winners of past Mode Stakes include horses that go on to contest Group races.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 West Of Dalby Abounding Mixed Spice
2022 Stroll Chinny Boom Sunshine In Paris
2021 Rhapsody Rose Putontheredlight Miss Hipstar
2020 Isotope Gotta Kiss Paredo
2019 Sugar Boom Oh Five Glory Euro Belle
2018 Outback Barbie Jami Lady Churning
2017 Pretty Fast Winter Bride Dream Kisses
2016 Eckstein Candika Gibraltar Girl
2015 Secret Saga La Dolce Vita Madotti
2014 Savoureux Tales Of Fashion Hijack Hussy
2013 Enquare Splendora Missy Longstocking
2012 Caliente Sookie Write Cheek
2011 Charm’s Honour Punch On Saraji
2010  ** Race not run **
2009 Swiss Rose Madeittothemoon Moama