Mitchell McKenzie Stakes Race Information

The Mitchell McKenzie Stakes is a 1200 metre set weights plus penalties race for three-year-old colts and geldings run by the Moonee Valley Racing Club in September. It is held at Moonee Valley as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YO colts and geldings
  • Track: Moonee Valley Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $175,000
  • Date: Saturday 9 September 2023

Mitchell McKenzie Stakes Race History

See the 2023 McKenzie Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 McKenzie Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2021 McKenzie Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2020 McKenzie Stakes Preview and results.

The race was originally a Listed race over 1000m and began in 1994 when it was won by talented colt St Covet who had already won the Black Opal Stakes in Canberra, ran 2nd in the 1994 Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes and won the Group 1 AJC Sires Produce Stakes. Later on he went on to win the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas. Not all winners have been so talented, although many winners have gone on to win Group races and some, like Bel Esprit, went on to be quality sires that have produced many winners.

In 2007 the distance was increased to 1200m and it has remained at that distance. It was won by Light Fantastic in that year and he still holds the race record for fastest time. The race was held on the first Moonee Valley race day of the racing season but has been moved to September.

In 2020 incessant rain caused the Mo0nee Valley meeting to be abandoned after five races due to safety concerns and this race was moved from 25 August to 28 November. In 2023 it was moved from August to September

Mitchell McKenzie Stakes Facts

Fastest time (1200m): Light Fantastic (2007) 1:09:85

Mitchell McKenzie Stakes & Caulfield Guineas: Anacheeva (2010), St Covet (1994)

Mitchell McKenzie Stakes & Doncaster Mile: Brutal (2018)

Leading jockeys: Dwayne Dunn has done well in this race in recent years (Brutal 2018; Overshare 2017; Rich Enuff 2014).

Interesting trivia: 2019 winner Condo’s Express cost $3000 as a yearling. 1994 winner St Covet still holds the race record for the Black Opal Stakes. In 2020 the meeting was abandoned and the race was rescheduled in November.

Past winners of the Mitchell McKenzie Stakes

Winners of past races include Carrara (2009), Anacheeva (2010). Light Fantastic (2008), Bel Esprit (2002), Blazing Reality (1996) and St Covet (1994).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Steparty Scentify Brave Mead
2022 Fast Witness Shalaman El Padrino
2021 He’s Xceptional Jigsaw Athelric
2020 Ocean Beyond Deep Speed Free To Move
2019 Condo’s Express Hightail Hawker Hurricane
2018 Brutal Tavisan Leonardo Da Hinchi
2017 Overshare Bandipur Sunquest
2016 Ken’s Dream Dam Ready Throssell
2015 Well Sprung Danuki Odyssey Moon
2014 Rich Enuff Fast Cash Turfane
2013 Cauthen Shamus Award Long John
2012 Rusambo Dominant Adjuster
2011 Amah Rock Hot Spin Secret Hills
2010 Anacheeva The Ruffian Bullbars
2009 Carrara Umanugget Nicastro
2008 Minnesota Shark Acoustic Sound Captain Fantastic
2007 Light Fantastic Gibraltar Campion Pit Lane
2006 Mondano Due Sasso Muzdaher
2005 Danerich Langarza Undoubtedly
2004 How Good Is He Tirade Strath Valley
2003 Lago Delight Cross Current Great Is Great
2002 Bel Esprit Able Choice Yell
2001 Strategic Image Abyssinian Tuscanos
2000 Slipstream Scenic Warrior Sound The Alarm
1999 Hasta La Quista Fappiano’s Son Ruthless Tycoon