Magic Millions 2YO Classic Race Information

The Magic Millions Classic is a 1200 metre set weights race for two-year-olds run by the Gold Coast Turf Club in January. It is held at Gold Coast and is restricted to horses bought from a Magic Millions auction.

  • Race Type: Restricted Listed (not a Group 1)
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 2YOs
  • Track: Gold Coast Racecourse, Bundall, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $3,000,000
  • Date: Saturday 13 January 2024

Magic Millions 2YO Classic Race History

See the 2024 Magic Millions 2YO Classic Preview and results.

See the 2023 Magic Millions 2YO Classic Preview and results.

See the 2021 Magic Millions 2YO Classic Preview and results.

The race was first held in 1987 when it was won by Snippets ridden by Phillip Smith and trained by Sally Rodgers. It is restricted to horses sold at the Magic Millions yearling sales.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Away Game (2020)

Fastest time (1200m): Clan O’Sullivan (1992) 1:08:46

Magic Millions Classic & Golden Slipper Stakes: Capitalist (2016); Phelan Ready (2009); Dance Hero (2004).

Leading jockeys: 

Leading trainers: 

Interesting trivia: 1997 winner General Nediym is the sire of 2003 winner Regimental Gal and 2010 winner Military Rose. 1999 winner Testa Rossa is the sire of 2014 winner Unencumbered.

Past winners of the Magic Millions 2YO Classic

Winners of past Magic Million Classics include horses that go on to win good 2YO and 3YO races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Storm Boy Highness Spywire
2023 Skirt The Law Platinum Jubilee Summer Loving
2022 Coolangatta Russian Conquest Snitcat
2021 Shaquero Alpine Edge She’s All Class
2020 Away Game Stellar Pauline Conceited
2019 Exhilarates Dubious Hightail
2018 Sunlight Fullazaboot Outback Barbie
2017 Houtzen Chauffeur Madeenaty
2016 Capitalist Nikitas Candika
2015 Le Chef Pepperano Single Gaze
2014 Unencumbered Oakleigh Girl Ruby Soho
2013 Real Surreal Sweet Idea Missy Longstocking
2012 Driefontein No Looking Back Alezan Thunder
2011 Karuta Queen Conbat Kitty Schiffer
2010 Military Rose Ambers Waltz Demanding Miss
2009 Phelan Ready Paprika Motown Lady
2008 Augusta Proud She’s Meaner High Roll’n Woman
2007 Mimi Lebrock Husson Lightning Royal Asscher
2006 Mirror Mirror Churchill Downs Reigart
2005 Bradbury’s Luck Emit Time Snitzel
Al Samer
2004 Dance Hero Not A Single Doubt Marie Madeleine
2003 Regimental Gal Danbird
How Funny
 * dead heat 2nd
2002 Lovely Jubly Chuckle Cool Trent
2001 Excellerator Miss Bussell Magic Albert
2000 Assertive Lad Belle Du Jour Rapid Man
1999 Testa Rossa Sally Magic Shalt Not
1998 Catnipped Spend Phorous
1997 General Nediym Special Dane My Halo Broke
1996 Winger Charger Our Banker La Snippette
1995 Zephyrz Gold Ace Pottinger
1994 Brave Warrior St Covet Discreet Lady
1993 Our Fiction Flying Tycoon Tiba Tiba
1992 Clan O’Sullivan Zodiac Miss Quick Snip
1991 Bold Promise Musical Chairs Dangerous Seam
1990 St Jude Trustful Quick Scorw
1990 (Fillies) Dancer’s Joy Mahaasin Rhythmic Charm
1989* Sunblazer Scomasc Red Rancher
1989 (Fillies) Malibu Magic Tristanagh Proudly
1988 Molokai Prince Prince Regent Good Time Dancer
1988 (Fillies) Sea Cabin Regal Devotion Mean Eyes
1987 Snippets Prince Anton Mother Duck