Lightning Handicap Race Information

The Lightning Handicap is a 1000 metre quality handicap race run by the Brisbane Racing Club in June. It is held at Eagle Farm as part of the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1000 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap
  • Track: Eagle Farm Racecourse, Brisbane, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $160,000
  • Date: Saturday 8 June 2024

Lightning Handicap Race History

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Boomnova (2022)

Multiple winners: Pittance (2000 & 2001);

Fastest time (1000m): Helter Skelter (2001) 0:56:30

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Lightning Handicap

Winners of past Lightning Handicaps include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Steady Ready Golden Boom Rubiquitous
2023 Petronius Athelric Deepour
2022 Boomnova Garibaldi Usmanov
2021 Usmanov Boomtown Lass Doctor Zous
2020  **Race not run **
2019 Plague Stone Tycoon Ace Amanaat
2018 Tarzan Tumbler Nieta
2017 Snitty Kitty Upstart Pride Prompt Return
2016 Executed Glenbawn Dame Hardline
2015 Whittington Rocky King The Storeman
2014 Cape Kidnappers Big Money Rocky King
2013 Howmuchdoyouloveme Delago Bolt I’m Cool
2012 Griffon Royal Bender Audacious Spirit
2011 Trusted Partner Warrior Girl Facile Tigre
2010 Daunting Lad First Command Another Takeover
2009 Keano Black Ink News Alert
2008 Devil Inside Fritz’s Princess Stolit
2007 Sequallan Sectagonal Words Of Magic
2006 Starlactic Imprisoned Helter Skelter
2005 Helter Skelter Grandway Shogun Carolina’s Boy
2004 Golden Snitch La Serenade Lion Safari
2003 Pembleton Koochie Ceffyl
2002 Alpine Express Pittance Great Crusader
2001 Pittance Golden Eye Alpine Express
2000 Pittance Dash Of Bay King Lotto
1999 Major Victory Gold Tooth Malouf Step Spritely
1998 Dance Beat Turpentine Cangronde