Japan Racing Association Plate Race Information

The Japan Racing Association Plate is a 2000 metre quality handicap race run by the Australian Turf Club in April. It is held at Randwick as part of the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 2000 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $250,000
  • Date: Saturday 20 April 2024

JRA Plate Race History

See the 2024 JRA Plate Preview and results.

See the 2023 JRA Plate Preview and results.

See the 2022 JRA Plate Preview and results.

The race was first held as a Listed race in 1997 and was won by Sharscay. In 2014 it was upgraded to the current Group 3 status.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Polly Grey (2022)

Fastest time (2000m): Tally (2018) 2:01:18

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Japan Racing Association Plate

Winners of past JRA Plates include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Huetor Goldman Hezashocka
2023 Diamil Bankers Choice Huetor
2022 Polly Grey Numerian Icebath
2021 Paths Of Glory Zaaki Hang Man
2020 Life Less Ordinary Greysful Glamour Shared Ambition
2019 Grey Lion Emperor’s Way All Too Soon
2018 Tally Nettoyer Rising Red
2017 Top Of My List Sons Of John Rudy
2016 Guardini Index Linked Havana Cooler
2015 Gypsy Diamond Leebaz Singing Flame
2014 Spillway Danchai Slow Pace
2013 Kelinni Fibrillation Pirate Bay
2012 Western Symbol Herculian Prince Larry’s Never Late
2011 Hawk Island Galizani Vintedge
2010 Herculian Prince Above Average Booming
2009 Prima Nova Lyncean Academy Queen of Queens
2008 Viewed Musket Nuclear Sky
2007 Safwa Ausbred King Honor In War
2006 Above Deck Jymcarew Kosi Bay
2005 Jeremiad Havana Wind Sunday Service
2004 On A High So Assertive Milanova
2003 Pentastic Homewrecker Evander
2002 Restless Mr. Nelson Star of the Seas
2001 Bowood Forest Space Age Bello Signor
2000 Vitrinite Spying Kingwin
1999 Tie The Knot Ears’ Ronny Torbellino
1998 Back In The Saddle Praise Indeed Dibble’s Dane
1997 Sharscay Catapult Nassirich