Farnley Stakes Race Information

The Farnley Stakes is a 1400 metre quality handicap race run by the Western Australian Turf Club in September. It is held at Belmont as the feature event of the day.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Belmont Racecourse, Perth, Western Australia
  • Prizemoney: $100,000
  • Date: Saturday 12 September 2020

Farnley Stakes Race History

See the 2020 Farnley Stakes Preview and Results

The Farnley Stakes was first run in 1945 when it was won by Kalamunda, ridden by J Meyers. In 1958 Dover Boy became the first horse to win the race more than once, after wining it in 1957. The only horse to win the race three times is Aquitania who won in 1965, 1966 and 1967 for trainer Reg Treffone. In 1979 it changed from being a Principal race to a Listed race.

Horses might come to this race via the Listed HG Bolton Sprint over 1200m, Listed Belmont Newmarket over 1200m or Idyllic Prince Stakes over 1300m.  After this race they may go on to the Listed Birthday Stakes over 1200m, Group 3 Northerly Stakes over 1400m, Group 2 Lee Steere Stakes over 1400m and the Group 1 Railway Stakes over 1600m.

When Neurological won in 2019 it was a first black-type win for the horse, trainer Martin Allan and mature-age apprentice Jade McNaught. It was an especially memorable day for Jade as she won six of the nine races on Belle Of liberty, Amillionite, Cockney Crew, Bunker Buster, Neurological and Stageman. She became the first apprentice jockey to boot home six winners in a WA metropolitan meeting, joining Frank Treen and William Pike as the only jockeys to achieve the feat in WA.

Farnley Stakes Facts

Last mare to win: Wink And A Nod (2015)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Rare Flyer (1982); Filly – Starglow (1972)

Multiple winners: Mega Steel (2011 & 2012);  Aquitania (1965, 19666 & 1967); Dover Boy (1957 & 1958)

Fastest time (1400m): Foxy Boy (2010) 1:22:67

Farnley Stakes & Northerly Stakes: Man Booker (2018);

Leading jockeys: Frank Treen with 5 wins (Son Of Biscay 1981; Swift Check 1973; Dover Boy 1957; Jubilee Myth 1953; Sun Bonnet 1946). Paul Dyson is next with four winners.

Leading trainers: Reg Treffone with 5 wins (Todvega 1980; Aquitania 1965, 1966 & 1967; Tantrum 1963)

Interesting trivia: There have been three dead-heats: Official Receiver & Rose Baloo (1983), Wool Zone & Rare Flyer (1982) and Makatilla & Pleasure Cruise (1977) .

Past winners of the Farnley Stakes

Winners of past Farnley Stakes include Rock Magic (2014), Idyllic Prince (2009), Herocity (1993) and Raconteur (1952).

Year Winner Second Third
2020 Massimo Yeah Dardy Snowchino
2019 Neurological Abdicator Disposition
2018 Man Booker The Celt War God
2017 Miki Two Toes Just Act Natural Ihtsahymn
2016 Stocks Bedamijo Military Ruler