Belmont Newmarket Race Information

The Belmont Newmarket is a 1200 metre handicap race run by the Western Australian Turf Club in August. It is held at Belmont as the first feature race of the Perth racing season.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Open handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Belmont Racecourse, Perth, Western Australia
  • Prizemoney: $125,000
  • Date: Saturday 12 August 2023

Belmont Newmarket Race History

See the 2023 Belmont Newmarket Preview and results.

See the 2022 Belmont Newmarket Preview and results.

See the 2020 Belmont Newmarket Preview and results.

The Belmont Newmarket is the first Black Type race of the Perth racing season and has a long history. It was first run in 1945 and was won by a horse called Lord Treat who won again the following year. Until 1978 it was run as a Principal race and from 1979 it became a Listed race when Micron won and then returned the following year to win again.

Jockey Frank Treen was the first rider to win in three consecutive years with Eulogium (1948), The Drone (1949) and Quicksand (1950). He later went on to win twice more in 1960 and 1961. No trainer has won in three consecutive years. Five-year-old horses have the best strike rate and geldings have won the majority of the races.

Belmont Newmarket Facts

Last mare to win: Meteroid (2017)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Fly My Kite (1999); Filly –

Multiple winners: Micron (1979 & 1980); Lord Treat (1945 & 1946)

Fastest time (1200m): Escadaire (2009) 1:09.71

Belmont Newmarket & Idyllic Prince Stakes: Great Again (2019)

Belmont Newmarket & Birthday Stakes: Meteoroid (2017)

Belmont Newmarket & The Straight Six: Great Again (2019)

Leading jockeys: Paul Harvey with 7 wins ( First Among Equals 2016; Kid Choisir 2011; Escadaire 2009; Vizard 2008; Marasco 2007;  Willoughby 1998; Bradson 1997).

Leading trainers: Colin Webster with 3 wins (Eastern Standard 2004; Prince Brighton 1978; Wolf City 1976) and Allan Taylor with 3 wins (Wool Zone 1982; Micron 1979 & 1980)

Interesting trivia: The oldest horse to win was nine-year-old Medicine Kid in 1993. Australian Hall of Fame trainer Colin Hayes won a Belmont Newmarket with Desirable in 1977.

Past winners of the Belmont Newmarket

Winners of past Belmont Newmarkets include several horses that go on to win other sprints in Western Australia.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Phanta Comes A Time Excellent Dream
2022 Nerodio Great Again Jericho Missile
2021 Samizdat Tellem We’re Comin Indian Pacific
2020 Saracino Pym’s Royale Multiverse
2019 Great Again Rebel King Multiverse
2018 Super Maxi Yeah Dardy Rebel King
2017 Meteoroid Profit Street Battle Hero
2016 First Among Equals Rock Magic Checkpoint
2015 Wink And A Nod Cool Trade Smoko
2014 Smoko Dominating Celebrity Miss
2013 Settle Strada Kalahaar Dueton
2012 Cavallo Pazzo Gum Nut Guru Our Ol’ Fella
2011 Kid Choisir Shock Value All Friared Up
2010 Casper Cowboy Shock Value Dante’s Volonte
2009 Escadaire Vain Raider Foxy Boy
2008 Vizard So Secret Dark Target
2007 Marasco Ripped Is Amazing
2006 Wire Detonator Arctic Park Rescuer
2005 Call Me Henry Arctic Park Eastern Standard
2004 Eastern Standard Dead Eye Dick Stir Pak
2003 Fair Alert Golden Delicious Blevvo
2002 Kaprats Cool Business Tender Smile
2001 Prince Of Pop Noble Sky Master Park
2000 Fly My Kite News Review The Profiteer