Tobin Bronze Stakes Race Information

The Tobin Bronze Stakes is a 1200 metre set weights race for three-year-olds run by the South Australian Jockey Club in early May. It is run at Morphettville as part of the Adelaide Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 3YOs
  • Track: Morphettville Racecourse, Adelaide, South Australia
  • Prizemoney: $250,000
  • Date: Saturday 27 April 2024

Tobin Bronze Stakes Race History

See the 2024 Tobin Bronze Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 Tobin Bronze Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Tobin Bronze Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2021 Tobin Bronze Stakes Preview and results.

Previously called the Euclase Stakes

In July 2020, Thoroughbred Racing South Australia (TRSA) and the South Australian Jockey Club (SAJC) unveiled the new race names of six black-type South Australian races following a joint decision to honour some of South Australian racings greatest icons. The change of race name requests were voted on by the pattern committee and presented to Racing Australia for approval. Galloper Tobin Bronze and stallion Without Fear, former jockeys Clara Lindop and John Letts, trainer Leon Macdonald and industry figure the late David Coles now all have races named in their honour.

Coming soon.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win; Seradess (2022)

Fastest time (1200m): Universal Queen (2007) 1:08:29

Euclase Stakes & Robert Sangster Stakes: Universal Queen (2007)

Euclase Stakes & The Goodwood (as a 4YO): Sword (1995/96); Euclase (1991/92); Mighty Avenger (1984/85)

Interesting trivia: Prizemoney was reduced in 2020 due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Past winners of the Tobin Bronze Stakes

Winners of past Tobin Bronze Stakes/ Euclase Stakes include Miracles Of Life (2014), Universal Queen (2007), Blazing Reality (1997), Never Undercharge (1993), Euclase (1991), Rechabite (1990) and Vitalic (1989).

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Skybird Moesha Pivot City
2023 Royal Merchant She Dances Seven Veils
2022 Seradess General Beau Bacchanalia
2021 Beau Rossa Litchfield County Ranting
2020 Xilong Garner I Am Eloquent
2019 Valour Road Tofane Gytrash
2018 I’ll Have A Bit She’s So High Viridine
2017 Sweet Sherry Fuhryk So You Too
2016 Faatinah Sooboog Demonstrate
2015 Nicoscene Tudor We’ve Got This
2014 Miracles Of Life Jazz Song Classy Jack
2013 Lonhspresso Essay Raider Shamal Wind
2012 Go The Knuckle Satin Shoes Snitzem
2011 Shrapnel Happy Trails General Truce
2010 Majestic Music Sister Madly Happy Hippy
2009 Champagne Harmony Cerberus Gal Very Discreet
2008 Diplomatic Force Vivacious Spirit Royal Asscher
2007 Universal Queen Pencelaron Nediyms Glow
2006 Magically Amyjaye Power Swish Trish
2005 Honalee Stormy Nova Cocinero
2004 Danabaa Shablec Ellicorsam
2003 Toast Of The Coast Super Groove Prosperous Bid
2002 Troubles The Big Chill Zip Zip Aray
2001 Ateates Miss Power Bird Romilada
2000 Honour The Name Rustic Mist Suraya
1999 Close Your Eyes Marstic Life Of Riley
1998 Show No Emotion Classic Day Easy Landing
1997 Blazing Reality Flavour Apple Danish
1996 Masked Party Furama Nights Tuscany Flyer
1995 Sword Plushka Wallstreet
1994 Elegancy Khaptingly Magic Of Money
1993 Never Undercharge Credit Account Manribo
1992 Dapper’s Hope
Alias Comberbache Black Rouge
1991 Euclase Sonic Express Premier Copper
1990 Rechabite Hot Arch Lady Officer
1989 Vitalic Plush Embassy Hobo Road
1988 Change Of Habit Melody Hit Rancheetah
1987 Northern Copy Majestic Moss Cold Hearted
1986 Sica Fortune Broadway Lil Confucious Flyer
1985 Rich Fields Lad Lord Galaxy Barley Hunter
1984 Mighty Avenger Crimson Gold Sweet Willie
1983 Mighty Manitou Belcunda Mr Mars
1982 Warrior King Segovian Rhythm Scarlet Rhythm
1981 Apollo’s Flame Demus Panama City