Easter Cup Race Information

The Easter Cup is a 2000 metre open handicap race run by the Melbourne Racing Club normally on Easter Saturday. It is held at Caulfield as the feature event of the meeting.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 2000 metres
  • Conditions: Open handicap
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 6 April 2024

Easter Cup Race History

See the 2024 Easter Cup Preview and results.

See the 2023 Easter Cup Preview and results.

See the 2022 Easter Cup Preview and results.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Miss Maren (2009)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Adolescence (2001); Filly – Kazanlik (1972)

Multiple winners: Future (1966-69); Flail (1933 & 1934); Riffian (1911 & 1913)

Fastest time (2000m): Hang Man (2021) 2:00:33

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Easter Cup

Winners of past Easter Cups include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Captain Envious Jennilala Deny Knowledge
2023 White Marlin Right You Are Lunar Flare
2022 Milford Holbien Mandela Effect
2021 Hang Man Persan Mahamedeis
2020 Inverloch Midterm Savacool
2019 Plein Ciel Furrion Morton’s Fork
2018 Shoreham Odeon Life Less Ordinary
2017 Observational Second Bullet Double Bluff
2016 Leebaz Guardini Observational
2015 Sertorius Escado Shoreham
2014 Our Voodoo Prince Akzar Stipulate
2013 Jet Away Folding Gear Whisper Downs
2012 Folding Gear Viking Hero Shewan
2011 Paddy O’Reilly Fanjura Launay
2010 Fanjura Light Vision Hissing Sid
2009 Miss Maren Raffaello Light Vision
2008 Like It Is Sand Sweeper Come Fly With Me
2007 Maldivian Douro Valley Spinney
2006 Casual Pass Rubijon Our Spur
2005 Show Barry Lord Erin Pretorius
2004 Tall Timbers Sweet Corn Domine
2003 Bush Padre Gunnamatta Lodger
2002 Thong Classic Adolescence Aquiver
2001 Adolescence Flushed Mr Prudent
2000 Litmus Lady Elsie Royal Caliph
1999 Il Don Royal Caliph Vonanne
1998 Vonanne Miss Tessla Sunny Lane
1997 True Identity Royal Line Bluestone
1996 Sober Suit Toil Cushman
1995 Regal Half Toil Bullwinkle
1994 Idea State Taj Sari Club
1993 Coolong Road Mamzelle Perdu Springhill Lad
1992 Mantlepiece London Bridge Mamzelle Perdu
1991 Ideal Centreman Mantlepiece Gamine
1990 Lord Palmeston Go Timmy Reputed
1989 Go Timmy Kalahari Dial Tone
1988 King Of Brooklyn Black Charleston Hallstrong
1987 Dandy Andy All Spades Alternate
1986 Jewel Planet Gold Deck Ollie’s Decree
1985 Nearco Fair Crimson Gold Follow The Light
1984 Pass The Baton Walk With Me Rosh
1983 Triumphal March Silver Bounty Lost World
1982 Paraparap Amarla Soroti
1981 Amarla Sarfraz Paignton
1980 Palace Gossip Sky Castle Sarfraz
1979 Warri Symbol Diecaster Beau D’Or
1978 North Sea Brett’s Honour Puramaka
1977 Princess Veronica Hyperno Vacuum
1976 Favoured Bay Timedes Gala Choice
1975 Bush Win Mister Pompous Nandalie Lass
1974 Warm Feeling Upstairs Tudor Peak
1973 Adrian The Frigate Red Hope
1972 Kazanlik Upstairs My Sahib
1971 Lancelot Royal Guardsman Noiraud
1970 Cedar King Sarose Future
1969 Future Scholar Yootha
1968 Yootha Star Belle Peace Mission
1967 Pharaon Spell Radiant Venture
1966 Future Beau Guard Winfreux
1965 Captain Blue Future Chokra
1964 Scenic’s Gift Radiant Venture Blue Era
1963 Havelock Sometime Rio David
1962 Serene Princess Womabra Smokeview
1961 Savage But Beautiful Rising Rocket
1960 Declaree Dhaulagiri Paratone
1959 Webster Famed Magic Nib
1958 Tuki Shadow Play Tudor Hill
1957 Radiant Blue Canbuse Parvo
1956 Oxley Glitzern Prince Dover
1955 Hellion Ribera Dunsinane
1954 Te Totara Just Caroline Engraver
1953 Arabist Gay Felt Prince O’Fairies
1952 Catchfree Steady Skystreamer
1951 Prince O’ Fairies Chicquita Purple Prince
1950  Plovarius Chicquita Purdey
1949 Clement Miss Prim Saxony