Dulcify Stakes Race Information

The Dulcify Stakes is a 1600 metre set weights plus penalties race for three-year-olds run by the Australian Turf Club in September or early October. It is held at Randwick as part of the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YOs
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $250,000
  • Date: Saturday 30 September 2023

Dulcify Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Dulcify Stakes Preview and results

See the 2022 Dulcify Stakes Preview and results

See the 2021 Dulcify Stakes Preview and results

See the 2020 Dulcify Stakes Preview and results

The Dulcify Stakes has been around for many years but was run as a handicap until the weight conditions were amended to set weights and penalties in 2019. The name was also changed from the Dulcify Quality to the Dulcify Stakes. In 2019 it was moved from Randwick to Rosehill, moved fom the end of September to the middle of September, and the distance was dropped from 1600m to 1500m. This followed an announcement in June 2018 by Racing NSW CEO Peter V’landys that he wanted New South Wales to be recognised as the ‘sprinting capital of Australia.’

It is isn’t the first time the race distance has been changed. In 1988 it was held over 2000m and was won by Sakana. In 2001 it was run over 1600m then back to 2000m for two years them was run over 1600m again in 2004. From 2005 to 20 2010 it was held over 1800m then in 2011 and 2012 it was increased to 1900m. In 2013 it came back to 1600m until 2018, and in 2019 the further reduction to 1500m was made.

With the change in conditions and timing, the race now serves as a lead-up race for the Group 2 Gloaming Stakes (1800m) and $1 million Group 1 Spring Champion Stakes (2000m).

Who was Dulcify ?

Dulcify was foaled in New Zealand and had a good pedigree as he was sired by the Irish 2000 Guineas winner Decies out of Todman mare Sweet Candy, but because he was plain-looking with a parrot-mouth he was gelded early and spelled. He went on to win 10 of his 21 starts over a 14 month period in a brilliant racing career with the most tragic of endings.

Raced by Allan Maller and Bill Rigg, trainer Colin Hayes said he was the greatest horse he ever trained.

His first race was as a three-year-old in 1978 where he made an immediate impression by winning at Morphettville at odds of 300-1. Next he ran second in the SAJC Derby. There followed a brilliant season where he won the Victoria Derby, the AJC Derby, the STC Rosehill Guineas, and the VRC Australian Cup where he defeated reigning champions of the turf  Manikato and Family of Man.

In 1979 as a four-year-old he won the Craiglee Stakes and Turnbull Stakes, then defeated a particularly strong field in the W.S. Cox Plate by a massive 7 lengths . A week later he also took out the Mackinnon Stakes. then was sent out  3-1 favourite in the 1979 Melbourne Cup. During the race he was galloped on and fractured his pelvis and had to be put down. The crowd was stunned and many left in tears in what was regarded as the saddest Melbourne Cup.

He was inducted into the Australian Racing Hall of Fame in 2014.

Dulcify Stakes Facts

Last filly to win: Moqueen (2016)

Fastest time (1500m): Just Thinkin’ (2019) 1:29:42

Dulcify Stakes & Wakeful Stakes: Ambience (2015)

Dulcify Stakes & Spring Champion Stakes: Hampton Court (2014)

Leading trainers (since 1999): Gai Waterhouse with 4 wins (Just Thinkin’ 2019; Hampton Court 2014; Viking Legend 2009; Theseo 2006)

Interesting trivia: Race not held in 2007 due to equine influenza.

Past winners of the Dulcify Stakes

Winners of past Dulcify Stakes include Subzero (1991) who went on to win a Melbourne Cup.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Ganbare Pushy Tom Kitten
2022 Williamsberg Communist Stroke Of Luck
2021 Giannis Tiger Of Malay Royalzel
2020 Mo’unga Global Quest Jet Propulsion
2019 Just Thinkin’ Subedar Shadow Hero
2018 Mickey Blue Eyes Gem Song Purple Sector
2017 Ataraxia Dissolution Sambro
2016 Moqueen Nemrud Earth
2015 Ambience Wudang Mountain Land’s End
2014 Hampton Court Duccio Bachman
2013 Rock Hero Liberty’s Choice Equator
2012 Proverb Indianapolis Laser Flash
2011 Big Time Quackquack Induna
2010 Yulalona Howdiddydoit Alma’s Fury
2009 Viking Legend Saint Encosta Smart Lady
2008 Rhyno Chaser Emperor Bonaparte Vilayet
2007   ** Race not run **
2006 Theseo Viewed Get Square
2005 Dream Ballad Hotel Grand Danzippo
2004 Squad Abu Simbel Restless Wind
2003 Al Jameel L’Espalier Superior Sateen
2002 Beaver Monte Grande Shalang
2001 Golden Fawn Grand Juror Sircarn Damon
2000 Falls The Shadow Re Rinka Helsinborg
1999 Angling Royal Integrity Akhenaton
1998 Wellington Lawyer Franklin Rivers
1997 Tie The Knot Spying El Mirada
1996 Dual Dilemma Ebony Grosve Adventurous
1995 Nothin’ Leica Dane Catalan Opening Super Slew
1994 Danewin Stay Tuned Preview
1993 Kalamax Zaremba Matrinaman
1992 Salcantay He’s Classic Palate
1991 Subzero Embassy Square Beowulf
1990 Callao Star What A Hit Fire Oak
1989 Princeville Iced Martini Dancing Marlin
1988 Sakana Shipwreck Oakwood
1987 Marwong Nickson All Ashore
1986 Imperial Majesty Our Henry Lonely Nights
1985 Easter Born To Be Queen Splendid Speed