Spring Champion Stakes Race Information

The Spring Champion Stakes is a 2000 metre set weight race for three-year-olds run by the Australian Jockey Club. It is held in October at Randwick racecourse as part of the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 1
  • Distance: 2000 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 3YOs
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $2,000,000
  • Date: Saturday 28 October 2023

Spring Champion Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Spring Champion Stakes Preview and results

See the 2022 Spring Champion Stakes Preview and results

See the 2021 Spring Champion Stakes Preview and results

See the 2020 Spring Champion Stakes Preview and results

The Spring Champion Stakes was first run in 1971 when it was won by Gay Icarus who went on to win eight black type events including the Caulfield Cup. The race was originally run in the autumn but moved to the spring in 1979 when it became a Group 1 race. In 1983 it was run over 2100 metres at Warwick Farm and in 2001 it was run over 1800 metres on the Kensington inner track.

Lead-up races are the Gloaming Stakes over 1800 metres at Rosehill, the Dulcify Quality over 2000 metres at Randwick and the NJC Spring Stakes over 1600 metres at Newcastle. Under the set weight conditions the colts and geldings carry 56.5kg and the fillies carry 54.5kg. Yankee Rose in 2016 was the first filly to ever win although many had been fancied in the betting. Surround was 2 to 1 favourite in 1977 and ran 10th while Tuesday Joy was $4 second favourite in 2006 and ran 4th.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Montefilia (2020). Only three fillies have ever won, the others were Maid Of Heaven in 2018 and Yankee Rose in 2016.

Fastest time (2000m): Hampton Court (2001) 2:00:230

Interesting trivia: 2004 winner Savabeel went on to win the Cox Plate at Moonee Valley 3 weeks later.

Previous winners of the Spring Champion Stakes

The race is well named because so many winners have gone on to win more Group 1 races and stamp themselves as champions. Taras Bulba (1975) won the ATC Derby, Rosehill Guineas, Chipping Norton, Underwood Stakes, VRC St Leger and Queen Elizabeth Stakes. Kingston Town (1979) won the ATC Derby, Queensland Derby, Sydney Cup and three Cox Plates. Other winners have similar achievements.

Notable winners include It’s A Dundeel (2012), Savabeel (2004), Niello (2003), Universal Prince (2000), Dignity Dancer (1998), Tie The Knot (1997), Nothin’ Leica Dane (1995), Danewin (1995), Stylish Century (1989), Beau Zam (1987), Sir Dapper (1983), Best Western (1981) and Cheyne Walk (1976).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Tom Kitten Cap Ferrat Ganbare
2022 Sharp ‘N’ Smart Elliptical She’s Extreme
2021 Profondo Never Been Kissed Alegron
2020 Montefilia Lion’s Roar Bucharest
2019 Shadow Hero Castelvecchio Battenburg
2018 Maid Of Heaven Aramayo Thinkin’ Big
2017 Ace High Tangled Sully (NZ)
2016 Yankee Rose Swear Prized Icon
2015 Vanbrugh I’m Belucci Man Of Choice
2014 Hampton Court First Seal Sweynesse
2013 Complacent Criterion Savvy Nature
2012 It’s A Dundeel Proisir Honorius
2011 Doctor Doom Darci Be Good Sangster
2010 Erewhon Retrieve Praecido/Shootoff
2009 Monaco Consul(NZ) Gathering Viking Legend
2008 Sousa (NZ) Predatory Pricer Excelltastic
2006 Teranaba All Black Gold He’s No Pie Eater
2005 Hotel Grand Pendragon (NZ) Duelled
2004 Savabeel Outback Prince Cedar Manor (NZ)
2003 Niello November Dreaming Tsuimai
2002 Platinum Scissors Soprano Maskerado (NZ)
2001 Viking Ruler Evander Silver Baron
2000 Universal Prince Falls The Shadow Go Bint (NZ)

2018 Spring Champion Stakes Preview & Tips:

Track: Good   Weather: Fine

Following the early scratching of Cloak there are 12 runners remaining for the $500,000 Moet & Chandon Spring Champion Stakes, and four of them had their last start in the Group 3 Gloaming Stakes and two in the Dulcify. The early favourite is Thinkin’ Big who won the Gloaming by 2.5 lengths. Second favouritism is shared between NJC Spring Stakes winner Aramayo, and Dealmaker who charged home late for a close 2nd in the G2 Stan Fox Stakes last start on a heavy track.

Tarka was 2nd in the Gloaming and should appreciate the extra distance. Frankely Awesome has had 2 big wins on country tracks and could make things interesting. Mickey Blue Eyes won the Dulcify, and Purple Sector ran 3rd. Maid Of Heaven finished 1.2 lengths 6th in the Flight Stakes. All other runners are currently 20 to 1 or longer.

For the latest tips on this years Spring Champion Stakes check out the top picks from our expert racing panel. Selections for the weekends racing are uploaded every Friday or you can simply join our newsletter and get them emailed direct to you inbox each week. The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
1 Thinkin’ Big
2 Tarka
6 Mickey Blue Eyes
4 Aramayo