Doomben 10,000 Race Information

The Doomben 10,000 is a 1200 metre weight-for-age race run by the Brisbane Racing Club. The race is held in May each year at Doomben during the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 1
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Open WFA
  • Track:  Doomben Racecourse, Brisbane, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $1,500,000
  • Date: Saturday 18 May 2024

Doomben 10,000 Race History

See the 2024 Doomben 10,000 Preview and results.

See the 2023 Doomben 10,000 Preview and results.

See the 2022 Doomben 10,000 Preview and results.

See the 2021 Doomben 10,000 Preview and results.

The Doomben 10,000 was first run in 1933 when Wallum carrying 45.5kg beat Closing Time carrying 58.5 kg over 6 furlongs (about 1200 metres). It has had several distance changes in the early years but has been held over 1350 metres from 1973 to 2016. In 2017 it was shortened to 1200m and run as the first Group 1 of the Brisbane carnival. It became a Group 1 race in 1980 and was a handicap event until 1997 when it became weight-for-age. In 2020 it was not run for the first time ever, due to COVID-19.

The race was originally called the Doomben Newmarket Handicap and then the TM Ahearn Memorial but was changed to the Doomben 10,000 in the 1940’s as the 10,000 pounds prizemoney made it the richest sprint race in Australia. When Bernborough won the race in 1946 he carried 68.5kg under the handicap conditions to win 10,000 pounds.

Prior to 2017, many horses used the Group 1 BTC Cup  as the lead-up race to the Doomben 10,000. Those that run well will go to contest the Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap over 1400 metres at Eagle Farm. Mares have a poor record in the race and when Hot Danish won in 2010 she was only the fifth mare in history to win the Doomben 10,000. Three-year-old fillies had never won until Sea Siren became the first in 2012, although they had placed with Melito running third in 2010 and Gold Edition just beaten by Takeover Target in 2007.

In 2022 it was held at Eagle Farm due to heavy rain during the week before.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: English (2018)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Giga Kick (2023); Filly – Sea Siren (2012)

Multiple winners: Apache Cat (2008 & 2009): Falvelon (2001 & 2002); Chief De Beers (1995 & 1996); Prince Trialia (1990 & 1991); Black Onyx (1969 & 1970)

Fastest time (1200m): The Bostonian (2020) 1:08:97

Interesting trivia: Not held in 2020 due to coronavirus pandemic.

Past winners of the Doomben 10,000

Five horses have won this race twice. They were Apache Cat (2008 and 2009), Falvelon (2001 and 2002), Chief De Beers (1995 and 1996), Prince Trialia (1990 and 1991) and Black Onyx (1969 and 1970). When Black Onyx won in 1969 he carried 54.5kg and in 1970 he carried 59kg. In 1962 the stallion Aquanita travelled from Western Australia to win the race, and when Undue won in 2006 he became the first Darwin-trained horse to win a Group 1 race.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Bella Nipotina I Wish I Win Espiona
2023 Giga Kick Overpass Mazu
2022 Mazu Paulele Entriviere
2021 Eduardo Wild Planet The Harrovian
2020 **Race not held**
2019 The Bostonian Osborne Bulls Dollar For Dollar
2018 English Impending Le Romain
2017 Redzel Counterattack Derryn
2016 Music Magnate Azkadellia Charlie Boy
2015 Boban Charlie Boy Generalife
2014 Spirit Of Boom Temple Of Boom Buffering
2013 Epaulette Sea Siren Buffering
2012 Sea Siren Buffering Temple Of Boom
2011 Beaded Love Conquers All Black Piranha
2010 Hot Danish Whobegotyou Melito
2009 Apache Cat Black Piranha All Silent
2008 Apache Cat Murtajil Turffontein
2007 Takeover Target Gold Edition Mitanni
2006 Undue Impaler Street Smart
2005 Red Oog Our Egyptian Raine Takeover Target
2004 Super Elegant Our Egyptian Raine Scenic Peak
2003 Bel Esprit Private Steer Spinning Hill
2002 Falvelon Show A Heart Lord Essex
2001 Falvelon Spinning Hill Mr Innocent
2000 Mr Innocent Easy Rocking Falvelon
1999 Laurie’s Lottery Adam Corporate James
1998 Chief De Beers Staging General Nediym
1997 Accomplice Blazing Steel Monopolize
1996 Suntain Encores Quick Return
1995 Chief De Beers All Our Mob Cohort
1994 Flitter All Our Mob Bint Marscay
1993 Unequalled Buck’s Pride Meg’s Ego
1992 Barrosa Boy Rough Habit Meg’s Ego
1991 Prince Trialia Barrosa Boy Tiny’s Finito
1990 Prince Trialia Planet Ruler Boasting
1989 Potrero Robian Steel Count Henri
1988 Campaign King Rancho Ruler Rendoo
1987 Broad Reach Northern Copy Lord Penn
1986 Between Ourselves Daybreak Lover Concrete
1985 Lord Ballina Princess Tiber Mr Magic
1984 Getting Closer Mr Magic Prince Hervey
1983 My Axeman Lord Sambeau Brenlaine
1982 Ideal Planet Grey Receiver Beach Boy
1981 Sovereign Red Grey Sapphire Atlantic Flyer
1980 Hit It Benny Family Of Man Bernard
1979 Manikato Casca Charmosa
1978 Blue’s Finito Galway Bay Kelly’s Eye
1977 Maybe Mahal Romantic Dream Sir Wisp
1976 Burwana Ease The Squeeze Crimson Cloud
1975 Spedito Dalrello Martindale
1974 Charlton Boy Bengalla Lad John’s Hope
1973 Craigola Charlton Boy Lucky Cloud
1972 Bengalla Lad Charlton Boy Amberdue
1971 Baguette Royal Treat Waminda
1970 Black Onyx Cabochon Mr Hush
1969 Black Onyx Regal Hunter Regal Vista
1968 Gay Gauntlet Academy Star Dual Control
1967 Bourbon Beau Symbolise Gay Smoke
1966 Pterylaw Maritana Citius
1965 Winfreux Todwana
 * dead-heat 2nd
1964 The Tempest Cele’s Image Rashlore
1963 Tipperary Star Lure Mac’s Pick
1962 Red Smoke Friar’s Peak Kilshery
1961 Aquanita Prince Lea Goldent
1960 In Love Queen Of The May Second Earl
1959 Second Earl Blue Dart Squander Lad
1958 Grey Ghost Troy New Joy
1957 Teranya New Joy Mandingos
1956 El Khobar Criollo Teranyan
1955 Apple Bay Plato True Leader
1954 Nagpuni Rapid River Lord Bosworth
1953 True Leader Coniston Karendi
1952 Highlea Mr. Standby True Leader
1951 Coniston Deep Sea Davey Jones
1950 Rim Boy Radstock Heroic Sovereign
1949 Ungar Lucky Ring Proud Monash
1948 Murray Stream Radstock Nestor
1947 Highstrung France Hiraji
1946 Bernborough Cragsman Puffham
1945 Port Raider Repshot Maa Leesh
1944 Gold Force The Image Bahtheon
1943 The Image High Rank Ahto
1942 Auction High Rank Bahford
1941 High Rank Rimveil Monash Star
1940 Expressman Beaulivre Vergure
1939 Micawber The Albatross Brisbane River
1938 Hamurah Bahwing Spear Chief
1937 Gay Chou Manresa King Merlin
1936 High Benia High Speech Verdun
1935 Pamelus Regular Bachelor Thalwyn
1934 Lough Neagh Whittingham Cuban Song
1933 Wallun Closing Time Noel Soldat

From the archives:

Doomben 10,000 Preview & Tips 2018

Track: Soft   Weather: Fine

There are 15 runners for the 2018 $700,000 Kirin Doomben 10,000. The short-priced favourite is Redzel who won this race last year and was 2nd in the TJ Smith Stakes last outing. Second favourite is In Her Time who won the Galaxy first-up this campaign then got too far back and ran on well for 3rd in the TJ Smith Stakes. Third in the betting is Impending who won the Group 2 Victory Stakes at this track and distance last start and goes well at this distance.

Le Romain fought on strongly for a close 2nd in the G1 All Aged last start. Care To Think has 6 wins and 4 places from 12 starts and has won all 3 of his starts on this track. English beat the favourite in a recent trial and can handle all types of going. Spieth generally runs well first-up. Houtzen is the only three-year-old filly in the field and won her only start on this track. All other runners are currently over 25 to 1.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
1 Redzel
12 In Her Time
2 Impending
3 Le Romain