BTC Cup Race Information

The Kingsford Smith or BTC Cup is a 1300 metre weight-for-age race held by the Brisbane Racing Club. Prior to 2017 it was the first Group 1 race of the Brisbane Winter Carnival and is held at Eagle Farm during May.

  • Race Type: Group 1
  • Distance: 1300 metres
  • Conditions: Open WFA
  • Track: Eagle Farm Racecourse, Brisbane, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $700,000
  • Date: Saturday 28 May 2022

BTC Cup Race History

See the 2021 Kingsford-Smith Cup Preview and Results.

The Kingsford Smith/BTC Cup dates back to 1964 when it was held as a quality handicap over 7 furlongs (about 1400 metres) and was won by Rashlore. In 1973 the distance was shortened to 1200 metres then from 1980 to 1990 it was run over 1350 metres. It was returned to the 1200 metre distance in 1991 and was made a weight-for-age race. In 2017 it was increased to 1300m and moved to later in the Brisbane carnival. It was given Group 1 status in 2006. In 2020 it was not held due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Over the relatively short history of the race, it has had many names such as the Delaney Quality Handicap, Tourist Minister’s Cup, Robin’s Kitchen Cup, Foster’s Cup, Carlton Cup, Wyndham Estate Cup, Richmond Grove Cup and Kingsford Smith Cup. It is part of the Doomben winter sprint treble along with the Group 3 BRC Sprint (formerly BTC Sprint) over 1350 metres and the Group 1 Doomben 10,000 over 1350 metres. In 2013 it was moved to Eagle Farm for the first time ever, in anticipation of Black Caviar running in it, as it can hold a bigger crowd. Unfortunately, she was retired a couple of weeks before the race.

Interstate horses often compete in this race as it was the first Group 1 race held in the Brisbane carnival. Favourites and second favourites have a very good record of winning this race, although 2010 winner Albert The Fat started at 20 to 1. Three-year-old colts and geldings have won this race several times but Sea Siren in 2012 was the first three-year-old filly to win.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Black Caviar (2011)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Your Song (2013); Filly – Sea Siren (2012)

Multiple winners: Falvelon (2000 & 2003); Buck’s Pride (1993 & 1994)

Fastest time (1300m): The Bostonian (2001) 1:15:51

Interesting trivia:

Previous winners of the BTC Cup

Notable winners include Falvelon (2000 and 2003) and Buck’s Pride (1993 and 1994) who both won the race twice. Thorn Park (2004) who is the only horse to win the Stradbroke Handicap in the same year since this race became weight-for-age. Barossa Boy (1992) is the only horse to win the Doomben winter sprint treble in the same years although Chief De Beers (1996) won them in different years.

Year Winner Second Third
2021 Vega One Jonker Signore Fox
2020  ** Race not run **
2019 The Bostonian Princess Posh Trekking
2018 Impending Le Romain Champagne Cuddles
2017 Clearly Innocent Jungle Edge Counterattack
2016 Malaguerra Dothraki Japonisme
2015 Hot Snitzel Knoydart Our Boy Malachi
2014 Famous Seamus Spirit Of Boom Buffering
2013 Your Song Rain Affair Better Than Ready
2012 Sea Siren Scenic Blast Beaded
2011 Black Caviar Hay List Buffering
2010 Albert The Fat Melito Latin News
2009 Duporth Bank Robber Apache Cat
2008 Apache Cat Vormista Swiss Ace
2007 Bentley Biscuit Takeover Target Mitanni
2006 Gee I Jane (NZ) Daunting Lad All Bar One
2005 Spark Of Life St Basil (NZ) Regimental Gal
2004 Thorn Park Star Of Florida Regijmental Gal
2003 Falvelon Make Mine Magic Diamond Dane
2002 Lord Essex Falvelon Phoenix Park
2001 Fritz (NZ) Show A Heart King Lotto
2000 Falvelon Mr Innocent Toledo

From the archives:

BTC Cup Preview & Tips 2018

Track: Good    Weather: Fine

Following the early scratching of Spieth, 10 runners remain for the $700,000 2018 Altus Traffic Kingsford-Smith Cup, and six of them had their last start in the Doomben 10,000 a fortnight ago. The favourite is Le Romain who was a close 3rd in the Doomben 10,000, following a close 2nd in the All Aged Stakes. Second favourite is Impending who resumed with a win in the Group 2 Victory Stakes then ran on out wide to grab 2nd in the Doomben 10,000. Third in the market is three-year-old filly Champagne Cuddles who has 3 wins and 5 places from 8 starts and resumed for a comfortable win in the Group 3 Gold Coast Guineas last start.

English returned to form with a narrow win in the Doomben 10,000 last start. Care To Think has a great record at this track and distance and can be excused his 6th in the Doomben 10,000 as he was vetted and found to have a respiratory issue. Volpe Veloce is a well-performed New Zealander with 10 wins from 15 starts, mostly over 1200m, who won the Group 1 Railway (1600m) at Ellerslie. All other runners are currently over 17 to 1.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
1 Impending
11 Champagne Cuddles
9 English
2 Le Romain