David Coles AM Stakes Race Information

The David Coles AM Stakes is a 1200 metre set weights race for two-year-olds run by the South Australian Jockey Club in May. It is held at Morphettville as part of the Adelaide Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 2YOs
  • Track: Morphettville Racecourse, Adelaide, South Australia
  • Prizemoney: $150,000
  • Date: Saturday 11 May 2024

David Coles AM Stakes Race History

See the 2024 David Coles AM Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 David Coles AM Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 David Coles AM Stakes Preview and results.

The race was first held as a Listed race over 1200m at Morphettville in 1985 and was won by a horse called Seiger trained by John Kennedy and ridden by Darren Gauci. It was upgraded to a Group 3 race in 1987. At various times it has been known as the National Stakes, The Jansz, the Stilwell Stakes and the SGIC Stakes. 2021 was the first year it was called the David Coles AM Stakes.

In July 2020, Thoroughbred Racing South Australia (TRSA) and the South Australian Jockey Club (SAJC) unveiled the new race names of six black-type South Australian races following a joint decision to honour some of South Australian racings greatest icons. The change of race name requests were voted on by the pattern committee and presented to Racing Australia for approval. Industry figure the late David Coles, former jockeys Clara Lindop and John Letts, trainer Leon Macdonald, galloper Tobin Bronze and stallion Without Fear now all have races named in their honour.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win; Heresy (2021)

Fastest time (1200m): Li’l Kontra (2019) 1:09:91

Interesting trivia: In 2001 Russian Caravan was first past the post but was later disqualified after it was discovered that she should have carried a 1.5 kg penalty.

Past winners of the David Coles AM Stakes

Winners of past David Coles AM Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Flyer Karavas The Dabble Effect
2023 Heuristic Iphimedia Down Low
2022 Maximillius See You In Heaven Aitch Two Oh
2021 Heresy Karacasu Magic Max
2020 Extra Time Kazuhiko Hard Rock Girl
2019 Li’l Kontra Absolute Flirt Xilong
2018 Marcel From Madrid Aristia Tequila Time
2017 I’ll Have A Bit Booker It’s A Myth
2016 I Am A Star Bangs One Blink
2015 Prince Of Brooklyn Badajoz Counter Pulse
2014 Moonovermanhattan Not A Happy Camper Sweet And Speedy
2013 Vivi Veloce Iconic The Huntress
2012 Dinkum Diamond Beau Jez Stella Lante
2011 Triple Asset Win For Wilson Gone Skiing
2010 Toorak Toff Stirling Grove Bedhrah
2009 Majestic Music Baby Corn Miss Bellezza
2008 Viennese Fury Kirvinsky
2007 Gabbidon Purrealist Little Arrow
2006 Lectrice Glory Be Not At Allordinary
2005 Tonz More Fun Paternity Get to Work
2004 General’s Dynasty Classiconi Sunmaya
2003 Great Is Great Rinky Dink Barabba Road
2002 Rohatyn Blur Troubled Man
2001 Cable Firm Blessum
2000 Super Elegant Shelbourne Lass Undertone
1999 Spargo Mootiara Cellar
1998 Gold Crystal St Clemens Belle Lord of the Pines
1997 La Baraka Morphett Road Requesta
1996 Will Fly Lake Villa Magic Ribbon
1995 Embargo Pacific Power Big Twister
1994 Linbird Delsole Turtle Bay
1993 Harkaway Star Of Maple Subastral
1992 Mookta Let Him Ride Petas Portion
1991 Jakpil Umatilla Tea Habit
1990 Sushi Rocket Berberia The Guida
1989 Dancers Choice Sculptured Arch Mouth Watering
1988 Pride Of Ingenue Queen Regent Natural Charm
1987 Kaapstad Wolveraction Mighty Dear
1986 Bataan Lockley’s Daughter Wolvette
1985 Seiger Indeed A Lady Pam Phile