CS Hayes Stakes Race Information

The CS Hayes Stakes is a 1400 metre set weights plus penalties race for three-year-old colts and geldings run by the Victorian Racing Club in February. It is held at Caulfield  on Lightning Stakes day.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YO C&G’s
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 17 February 2024

CS Hayes Stakes Race History

See the 2024 CS Hayes Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 CS Hayes Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2021 CS Hayes Stakes Preview and results.

The race was first held in 1986 as The Debonair over 1400m and was won by Caledonian Boy. The following year it became a Listed race and was won by Raveneaux. In 2001 it was upgraded to the current Group 3 Status. The name was changed to the C S Hayes Stakes in 2008.

If you look through the past winners below you will see many placegetters that won Group 1 races.

The race is held on the same day as The Vanity which is the equivalent race for 3YO fillies.

Useful Facts

Fastest time (1400m): Grunt (2018) 1:21:55

CS Hayes Stakes & Australian Guineas: Alligator Blood (2020);Grunt (2018); Hey Doc (2017); Imposing (1979); Wandjina (2015); Dash For Cash (2002); Mouawad (1997); Mahogany (1994); Zabeel (1990).

Interesting trivia: In 2016 Palentino was first to finish but was relegated to 2nd due to interference.

Past winners of the CS Hayes Stakes

Winners of past CS Hayes Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Riff Rocket King Colorado Verdad
2023 Elliptical Holymanz Maximillius
2022 Pinstriped Pascero Captivant
2021 Tagaloa Aysar Mo’unga
2020 Alligator Blood Catalyst Chenier
2019 The Inevitable Age Of Chivalry O’Tauto
2018 Grunt Cliff’s Edge Muraaqeb
2017 Hey Doc Malaise Land Of Plenty
2016 Tivaci Palentino Tulsa
2015 Wandjina Disposition Stratum Star
2014 Hucklebuck Prince Harada The Quarterback
2013 Sheer Talent Force Command Hosting
2012 That The One Decircles Instinction/Highly Recommended
2011 Bullbars Startsmeup Spirited Eagle
2010 Take The Rap Encosta Belief Extra Zero
2009 Fair Trade Cavalaire Bay Excelltastic
2008 Playwright Schilling Viatorian
2007 Wordsmith General Albert Mondano
2006 Minson Langarza Zigotto
2005 Lieutenant Mr Martini Barely A Moment
2004 Starcraft Under The Bridge Elvstroem
2003 Innovation Girl Delago Brom Tycoon Ruler
2002 Dash For Cash All Courage Royal Code
2001 Kosta Zoff Skalato Crop
2000 Crawl Pins Kapuna
1999 Mossman Marstic Radiant Sword
1998 Encounter Kilkea Second Coming
1997 Mouawad Alfa Toledo
1996 El Qahiras Son Scenic Royale Jacoby
1995 Rullene Don Pasquale Blevic
1994 Mahogany Mr Mutual Respect Let’s Cut Loose
1993 McBrave Redding From The Park
1992 Coolong Road Jolly Old Mac Dapper’s Hope
1991 The Strategist
1990 Zabeel Zaparri
1989 Tin Woodman Vitalic
1988 Spacecraft Sky Chase
1987 Raveneaux Vo Rogue
1986 Caledonian Boy True Version