Clare Lindop Stakes Race Information

The Clare Lindop Stakes is a 1600 metre race for three-year-old fillies run by the South Australian Jockey Club in late March. It is held at Morphettville during the autumn carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights & penalties, 3YO fillies
  • Track: Morphettville Racecourse, Adelaide, South Australia
  • Prizemoney: $120,000
  • Date: Saturday 23 March 2024

Clare Lindop Stakes Race History

See the 2024 Preview and results.

See the 2023 Preview and results.

See the 2022 Preview and results.

has been a Listed race for over twenty years.

In July 2020, Thoroughbred Racing South Australia (TRSA) and the South Australian Jockey Club (SAJC) unveiled the new race names of six black-type South Australian races following a joint decision to honour some of South Australian racings greatest icons. The change of race name requests were voted on by the pattern committee and presented to Racing Australia for approval. Former jockeys Clara Lindop and John Letts, trainer Leon Macdonald, industry figure the late David Coles, galloper Tobin Bronze and stallion Without Fear now all have races named in their honour.

Clare Lindop has won numerous South Australian jockeys premierships and has had over 1300 career wins including four Group 1’s. She was the first Australian female jockey to ride in the Melbourne Cup when she rode Debben for Leon Macdonald in 2003. Her first Group 1 win was Exalted Time in the 2006 Adelaide Cup, and in 2008 she won the Victoria Derby on Rebel Raider.

Clare was inducted into the South Australian Thoroughbred Racing Hall of Fame in 2018.

Clare Lindop Stakes Facts

Fastest time (1600m): Chic Choice (2005) 1:34:76

Interesting trivia: Clare Lindop was the first female jockey to win this race on Impressive Eagle in 2009. Linda Meech won on Lucky Penny in 2012.

Past winners of the Clare Lindop Stakes

Winners of past Clare Lindop Stakes include good middle-distance fillies

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Quickster The Autumn Belle Madison Kate
2023 As Time Goes By Party Princess Arugamama
2022 Mac ‘N’ Cheese Perceptive The Map
2021 Ecumenical Perfect World Spectacle
2020 Meuse Wings Of Pastrami Realm Of Flowers
2019 Cosmic Alert So We Are Raging Queen
2018 Blue Morpho Pandemonium Earth Angel
2017 Kenedna With A Bit Of Dash Peninsula Links
2016 C’est Beau La Vie Comprende
Sailing By
 * dead-heat 2nd
2015 Ondina Into The Mist Cathy’s Mark
2014 Every Faith In Masquerade Abba
2013 Keyarna Blue Hazard Mama’s Choice
2012 Lucky Penny Juliet’s Princess Tai Tai Tess
2011 Ain’tnofallenstar Jalsah Fashion
2010 I’m Discreet Legislature Rose Darmore
2009 Impressive Eagle Pachanga Climatic
2008 Danedina Rough Chance Beltija
2007 Autumn Jeuney Juste Momente Lady Branax
2006 Perfect Feeling Betsy Pie Flouze
2005 Chic Choice Snipify Breezy
2004 Taken Jillimarg Nureyev’s Girl
2003 Social Glow Debben Fairessa
2002 Russian Caravan Betta Fortune These Days
2001 Sylvaner Sanctus Carlin
2000 Snaabelle Lumgarno Venere