Brisbane Handicap Race Information

The Brisbane Handicap is a 1600 metre quality handicap race run by the Brisbane Racing Club in September. It is held at Doomben and is the feature event of the meeting.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap
  • Track: Doomben Racecourse, Brisbane, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $125,000
  • Date: Saturday 12 September 2020

Brisbane Handicap Race History

See the 2020 Brisbane Handicap Preview and Results

This race used to be one of the major features of Brisbane’s summer carnival, as prior to 2020 it was normally held in December. In the past it had the reputation as the best 1600m race in Queensland but since it was switched from Eagle Farm to Doomben in 2013 some feel it is now overshadowed by the Bernborough Handicap.

Because it has moved position in the racing calendar in 2020, the lead-up races will be different to the past.

Brisbane Handicap Facts

Last mare to win: Skate To Paris (2020)

Multiple winners:

Fastest time (1600m): General Minolta (2003) 1:33:70

Brisbane Handicap & Bernborough: Niccanova (2019);

Leading jockeys (since 1999): Jim Byrne with 3 wins (Hopfgarten 2014; Fillydelphia 2011; Hissy Fit 2005).

Leading trainers : Robert Heathcote with 4 wins (Hopfgarten 2014; Fillydelphia 2011; Our Lukas 2009; General Minolta 2003)

Interesting trivia: Race not held in 2007 due to equine influenza.

Past winners of the Brisbane Handicap

Winners of past Brisbane Handicaps include some good milers..

Year Winner Second Third
2020 Skate to Paris Free Fly Too Toryjoy
2019 Niccanova Sir Plush The Candy Man
2018 Coldstone Ruling Dynasty Sold For Song
2017 Cantbuybetter Hopfgarten Zahspeed
2016 Man Of His Word Cylinder Beach Sweet Redemption