BJ McLachlan Stakes Race Information

The BJ McLachlan Stakes is a 1200 metre set weights race for two-year-olds run by the Brisbane Racing Club in late December. It is held at Doomben as one of the feature events on the programme.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 2YOs
  • Track: Doomben Racecourse, Brisbane, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $300,000
  • Date: Saturday 23 December 2023

BJ McLachlan Stakes Race History

See the 2023 BJ McLachlan 2YO Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 BJ McLachlan 2YO Plate Preview and results.

The race was first held in 1982 as a Listed race called the O’Brien Glass Plate at Doomben when it was won by a horse called Spanian. The name has changed several times including the Chinatown Stakes, BATC STakes, Tommy Smith Slipper and since 2009 it has been the B J McLachlan Stakes. It was upgraded to Group 3 status in 2011.

Moved from Eagle Farm to Doomben in 2021 then back to Eagle Farm in 2023.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Coolangatta (2021)

Fastest time (1200m): Driefontein (2011) 1:09:38

Interesting trivia: General Nediym sired the winner in 2008 (Paprika), 2009 (Military Rose) and 2010 (Military Grace). Race not run in 2007 due to equine influenza.

Past winners of the BJ McLachlan Stakes

Winners of past BJ McLachlan Stakes include Unencumbered (2013), Driefontein (2011), Military Rose (2009), Paprika (2008), Snitzel (2004), How Funny (2002), Sunday Joy (2001), Mr Innocent (1997), Guineas (1996), Brave Warrior (1994), Facile (1991) and St Jude (1989).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Storm Boy Poster Girl Customized
2022 The Novelist Excel D’or Godzilla
2021 Coolangatta Thelwell Swiss Exile
2020 Alpine Edge Baby Wong Subterranean
2019 King’s Legacy Every Rose Euphoric Summer
2018 Sun City Rome Krameric
2017 Meryl Hopes Eternal Witherspoon
2016 Ours To Keep Goodfella Coorg
2015 Zelady’s Night Out Slumber Party Nikitas
2014 Mishani Honcho Wicked Intent Star Of Night
2013 Unencumbered Stroak Sagatona
2012 Missy Longstocking Sweet Idea Architect
2011 Driefontein Sizzling Snipzu
2010 Military Grace Wonderful You Merryanna
2009 Military Rose Marking Time Startsmeup
2008 Dec Paprika Carlton Forward Moonlight Hussey
2008 Mar She’s Meaner Astatus Privileged Class
2006 Miss Watagan Sashenka Rock Idol
2005 Master Archie Cole Trickle Mel
2004 Snitzel Street Smart Blizzardly
2003 Oratorio Star Shiraz Fine Silver
2002 How Funny Dorky Sir Success
2001 Sunday Joy Sir Breakfast Obsession
2000 Shovoff Strategic Image Tellson
1999  ** Race not run **
1998 Territorial Happy Spring Iron Ore
1997 Mr Innocent Chagatai Damika
1996 Guineas Special Dane Quick Whiskey
1995 Sovereign State Forgotten Hero Airigead
1994 Pottinger Arrashi Sahara Zip
1993 Brave Warrior Scenic Star Bulldog Yeats
1992 Gem Of The West Flying Tycoon Private Label
1991 Facile
1990 Unbid Slam
1989 St Jude
1988 Scomasc
1987 Prince Regent
1986 Wear The Crown
1985 Roro
1984 Lady Lustre
1983 Crawford
1982 Spanian