ATC St Leger Stakes Race Information

The ATC St Leger Stakes is a 2600 metre staying race run by the Australian Turf Club in October. It is held at Rosehill as part of the Sydney Everest Carnival in the spring.

  • Race Type: Non-graded race
  • Distance: 2600 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $500,000
  • Date: Saturday 14 October 2023

ATC St Leger Stakes Race History

See the 2023 ATC St Leger Stakes Preview and results.

The ATC St Leger has a long history and was first run as a Principal race over 12 furlongs in 1841 when it was won by Eleanor. Originally it was for 3YOs but is now for 3YOs and older horses. It was upgraded to Group 2 status in 1980. The race was discontinued after former Caulfield Cup winner Sky Heights  won in 2001. It was re-introduced in Spring 2017 as part of The Everest carnival. Since returning it has not been given black-type status.

Lead-up races may include the Group 1 The Metropolitan over 2400m.

Useful Facts

Fastest time (2600m):

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the ATC St Leger Stakes.

Past winners of the ATC St Leger include Big Duke (2017), Sky Heights (2001), Tie The Knot (2000), Tawrrific (1989), Beau Zam (1988), Handy Proverb (1986), Gurner’s Lane (1982), Tulloch (1958), Sailor’s Guide (1956), Hydrogen (1952), Playboy (1950), Peter Pan (1933), Phar Lap (1930), Windbag (1925), Poseidon (1907) and Newhaven (1897).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Land Legend Cleveland Kalapour
2022 Stockman Arapaho Sacramento
2021 Warning Luncies Entente
2020 Fun Fact Brimham Rocks She’s Ideel
2019 Hush Writer Carif Youngstar
2018 Big Blue One Foot In Heaven Red Cardinal
2017 Big Duke Auvray Cismontane