Stradbroke Handicap

The Stradbroke Handicap is a 1400 metre handicap race run by the Brisbane Racing Club at Eagle Farm. It is held during June and is the richest race of the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival.

Race Type: Group 1, Open Handicap
Distance: 1,400 metres
Track: Eagle Farm Racecourse, Brisbane, Queensland
Date: Saturday 8 June 2013

The Stradbroke Handicap was first held as a principal race over 6 furlongs (about 1200 metres) in 1890 and was won by Pyrrhus. The race was not held in the war years of 1942 to 1945, and in 1953 the distance was increased to 7 furlongs. It became a Group 1 race in 1980 and was known as the QTC Elders Handicap for most of the 1980’s.

In 1993 the prizemoney for the Stradbroke Handicap was set at one million dollars and it is the richest race of the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival. The Group 1 Doomben 10,000 over 1350 metres is the major lead-up race, and fillies and mares who run well in the Stradbroke will go on to contest the Winter Stakes two weeks later on the last day of the Brisbane Carnival.

The Stradbroke Handicap generally attracts capacity fields and requires horses with speed and stamina. It is a middle distance race that is well suited to milers. Horses that perform well in the race will generally follow-up by racing in high status races in the Sydney or Melbourne Spring Racing Carnivals.

Stradbroke Handicap Final Field & Odds 2013

See below for latest betting odds in this years Stradbroke Handicap.

‘Odds not currently available’

Stradbroke Handicap Preview & Tips 2013

Track: Dead   Weather: Overcast

There is a full field of 18 plus 5 emergencies declared for the $1,360,000 2013 AAMI Stradbroke Handicap. The early favourite is BTC Cup winner Your Song, who has drawn the best of the 4 three-year-olds in barrier 11. Second favourite is Queensland Guineas winner Sizzling who has a great record at the track but has drawn barrier 18. Third favourite is Doomben 10,000 winner Epaulette who has drawn barrier 22.

Better Than Ready goes well at this track but has drawn barrier 19. Buffering ran 2nd in this race last year and has gone well in all 3 runs since resuming. Fontelina was a last start winner at Scone while Streama will race with blinkers for the first time. Solzhenitsyn was a last start winner in the Group 3 Lord Mayor’s, while Belltone was a last start winner in the Group 3 BRC Sprint and can go well from barrier 3. The rest of the field are all over 20 to 1 but plenty of them have lots of talent.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
Mick’s Picks
Ed’s Choice
18 Sizzling 18 Sizzling 1 Buffering
8 Your Song 8 Your Song 18 Sizzling
13 Belltone 1 Buffering 4 Streama
2 Epaulette 17 Better Than Ready 2 Epaulette

Previous winners of the Stradbroke Handicap:

Eight horses have managed to win the Stradbroke on two occasions during its long history. They are Black Piranha (2009 and 2010), Rough Habit (1991 and 1992), Daybreak Lover (1984 and 1986), Lucky Ring (1949 and 1950), Petrol Lager (1934 and 1935), Highland (1925 and 1926), Gold Tie (1918 and 1919) and Babel (1895 and 1896).

Fillies and mares have a poor record in the race, and although a few fillies have won in recent years, when Mid Summer Music won in 2012 she was the first mare since Capri in 1936.

Year Winner Second Third
2013 Linton Buffering Streama
2012 Mid Summer Music Buffering Happy Zero
2011 Sincero Beaded Zero Rock
2010 Black Piranha Melito Mic Mac
2009 Black Piranha Danleigh Ortensia
2008 Mr Baritone Hard To Catch Double Dare
2007 Sniper’s Bullet Gold Edition Benedetti
2006 La Montagna Gee I Jane (NZ) Cog Hill (NZ)
2005 St Basil (NZ) Perfect Promise Shamekha
2004 Thorn Park Consular St Basil (NZ)
2003 Private Steer Diamond Dane Into The Night
2002 Show A Heart Falvelon Kingsgate
2001 Crawl Hire Mr Innocent
2000 Landsighting Mr Innocent Brighter Scene