Golden Rose Stakes Race Information

The Golden Rose is a 1400 metre race for three-year-olds run under set weight conditions. It is held by the Australian Turf Club at Rosehill in late August or early September.

  • Race Type: Group 1
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 3YOs
  • Track: Rosehill Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $1,000,000
  • Date: Saturday 23 September 2023

Golden Rose Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Golden Rose Stakes Preview and results

See the 2022 Golden Rose Stakes Preview and results

See the 2021 Golden Rose Stakes Preview and results

See the 2020 Golden Rose Stakes Preview and results

The Golden Rose is a relatively new race that was first held in 1993. According to the Australian Pattern Racing Committee it does not replace the Group 2 Peter Pan Stakes at Rosehill over 1500 metres that was last run in 2002. Under the set weight conditions colts and geldings carry 56.5kg and fillies carry 54.5kg.

As the first Sydney Group 1 three-year-old race of the racing year, the Golden Rose attracts a quality field of up-and-coming three-year-olds. In 2007 the race was not held because of an outbreak of equine influenza (EI) but was run in March of 2008 instead, which is why there are two sets of results for 2008.

The main lead-up races are The Run To The Rose over 1300 metres and the Up and Coming Stakes over 1200 metres. Hallowed Crown was the last horse to win the Run To The Rose – Golden Rose double (2014) and Court Command was the last horse to win the Up and Coming – Golden Rose double (2006).

In 2019 Racing NSW and the Australian Turf Club announced a new four-year old race as part of their changed programming for the Sydney Spring Carnival. They introduced the Golden Eagle as a a four-year-old race and created a “Golden Slam” at Rosehill where any horse that can win the Golden Slipper as a two-year-old plus the Golden Rose as a three-year-old plus the Golden Eagle as a four-year-old will get a $5 million bonus.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win; Forensics (2008)

Fastest time (1400m): Exosphere (2015) 1:21:83

Interesting trivia: In 2007 the race was not held because of an outbreak of equine influenza (EI) but was run in March of 2008 instead, which is why there are two sets of results for 2008.

Previous winners of the Golden Rose Stakes

In its short history the race has produced many horses who have gone on to Group 1 wins. Forensics is the only Golden Slipper winner to win the race so far and is also the only filly. Peter Snowden is the only trainer to have three winners with Epaulette (2012), Denman (2009) and Forensics (2007) while Hugh Bowman is the jockey with most wins on Bivouac (2019), Hallowed Crown (2014), Duporth (2008), Doonan (2004) and In Top Swing (2003).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Militarize Encap Cylinder
2022 Jacquinot In Secret Zou Tiger
2021 In The Congo Anamoe Coastwatch
2020 Ole Kirk North Pacific King’s Legacy
2019 Bivouac Yes Yes Yes Exceedance
2018 The Autumn Sun Zousain Graff
2017 Trapeze Artist Champagne Cuddles Menari
2016 Astern Omei Sword Impending
2015 Exosphere Speak Fondly Sebring Sun
2014 Hallowed Crown Scissor Kick Shooting To Win
2013 Zoustar Dissident Bull Point
2012 Epaulette Albrecht Ashokan
2011 Manawanui Smart Missile Helmet
2010 Toorak Toff Squamosa Ilovethiscity
2009 Denman Trusting Stryker
Aug 2008 Duporth Stripper Desuetude
Mar 2008 Forensics El Cambio Kingda Ka
2006 Court Command Empire’s Choice (NZ) Mentality
2005 Paratroopers Racing To Win Pendragon (NZ)
2004 Doonan El Maher Lieutenant
2003 In Top Swing Handsome Ransome Ashenti

2018 Golden Rose Preview & Tips:

Track: Good   Weather: Fine

There are 11 runners for the $1,000,000 De Bortoli WinesGolden Rose Stakes, including one filly. The early favourite is Graff, who won his first 3 races including the Group 3 San Domenico Stakes before becoming unbalanced after being bumped and finishing 2nd in the Run To The Rose on a heavy track. Second favourite is The Autumn Sun, one of 3 runners for Chris Waller, who also won his first 3 starts including the Group 1 JJ Atkins Plate, before resuming for an unlucky 3rd in the Group 2 Stan Fox Stakes on a heavy track. Third in the market is another Waller runner Lean Mean Machine who has 3 wins and 2 places from 6 starts and resumed with a win in the Run To The Rose.

Zousain is a very honest performer with a Group 2 win and a Group 1 place already under his belt who resumed for 4th in the Run To The Rose. Seabrook is the only filly in the race who won the Group 1 Champagne Stakes in the autumn and resumed for 3rd in the G3 McNeil Stakes. Jonker was 3rd in The Run To The Rose while Sandbar was 5th. Santos resumed for 5th in the Listed Heritage Stakes where he never saw daylight and looked to have plenty to offer. All other runners are currently 20 to 1 or longer in the market.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
4 Graff
2 The Autumn Sun
1 Lean Mean Machine
3 Zousain