Zipping Classic Race Information

The Zipping Classic is a 2400 metre weight for age race run by the Melbourne Racing Club in November. It is run at Caulfield at the end of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 2400 metres
  • Conditions: Weight for age
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $750,000
  • Date: Saturday 2 December 2023

Zipping Classic Race History

See the 2023 Zipping Classic Preview and results.

See the 2022 Zipping Classic Preview and results.

See the 2021 Zipping Classic Preview and results.

In 2021 the race was moved from mid-November at Sandown Park to the end of November at Caulfield. The new feature meeting at Caulfield will now mark the end of the 2021 Spring Racing Carnival. In 2021 jockey Glen Boss rode his last ride on the Peter Moody-trained favourite Spanish Mission who finished 4th.

Zipping Classic Facts

Last mare to win: Beautiful Romance (2016)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – The Taj Mahal (2017); Filly – Eleanor (1902)

Multiple winners: Sound (2020 & 2021); The Taj Mahal (2017 & 2018); Zipping (2007, 2008, 2009 & 2010); Morse Code (1950 & 1952): Second Wind (1930 & 1931).

Fastest time (2400m): Brave Chief (2000) 2:24:3

Interesting trivia: In 1999 Aerosmith survived a protest from Zerpour. In 1991 Big Colony was first past the post, but later disqualified after a positive swab.

Past winners of the Zipping Classic

Winners of past Zipping Classics include horses that go on to win major races.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Military Mission Bankers Choice Duke De Sessa
2022 Vow And Declare Luncies Persan
2021 Sound Dr Drill Wentwood
2020 Sound Brimham Rocks Future Score
2019 Southern France Miss Siska Chapada
2018 The Taj Mahal Dal Harraild Our Libretto
2017 The Taj Mahal Almandin Big Duke
2016 Beautiful Romance Almoonqith Big Orange
2015 Who Shot Thebarman Tall Ship Do You Remember
2014 Au Revoir Epingle Prince Of Penzance
2013 Sertorius Epingle Queenstown
2012 Tanby Exceptionally Precedence
2011 Americain Manighar Mourayan
2010 Zipping Exceptionally Manighar
2009 Zipping Purple Master O’reilly
2008 Zipping Douro Valley Red Ruler
2007 Zipping Jukebox Johnny Baughurst
2006 Gallant Guru Casual Pass Show Barry
2005 Roman Arch Grey Song Expunge
2004 Count Ricardo Fantastic Love Media Puzzle
2003 Legible Distinctly Secret Zazzman
2002 Hail Hill Of Grace Grey Song
2001 Sky Heights King Keitel Cinder Bella
2000 Brave Chief Forgotten Hero Pasta Express