Wenona Girl Quality Race Information

The Wenona Girl Quality is a 1200 metre quality handicap race for mares four-years-old and up run by the Australian Turf Club in early March. It is held at Randwick as part of the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, Mares, 4YO & upwards
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $250,000
  • Date: Saturday 9 March 2024

Wenona Girl Quality Race History

See the 2024 Wenona Girl Quality Preview and results.

See the 2023 Wenona Girl Quality Preview and results.

The race was first held in 2006 as a Listed race and was won by a mare called Wonderer. It has always been held at Randwick apart from 2011 and 2013 when it was held at Warwick Farm. It was upgraded to a Group 3 race in 2014, and in that year it was called the Roy Higgins Tribute Quality in honour of champion jockey Roy Higgins who passed away less than a week before the race.

The race is named after a great mare, Wenona Girl, who raced in the late 1950’s and early 1960’s, She won 27 races and at the time she retired she was the mare who had earned the highest stakes money in Australia.

Useful Facts

Fastest time (1200m): Winter Bride (2019) 1:07:73

Leading trainers : Kris Lees with 3 wins (Sugar Bella 2018; Savoreux 2016; Litter 2008)

Interesting trivia: Jump The Broom was first across the line in 2023 but a protest of 3rd v 1st was upheld and she was relegated to 3rd.

Past winners of the Wenona Girl Quality

Winners of past Wenona Girl Qualitys include Fasika (2020), Griante (2015), A Time For Julia (2014), Rose Of Peace (2012), Ofcourseican (2011), Beaded (2010), Belong To Many (2009) and Kakakakatie (2007),

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Tintookie C’est Magique Wee Nessy
2023 Jal Lei Tycoon Evie Jump The Broom
2022 Belluci Babe Tricky Gal Never Talk
2021 Vulpine Seasons Emanate
2020 Fasika I Am Excited Resin
2019 Winter Bride Spright Resin
2018 Sugar Bella Miss Que Perizada
2017 Rocket Commander Hieroglyphics Zestful
2016 Savoureux Private Secretary Flashing Speed
2015 Griante I Love It Slots
2014 A Time For Julia Lilliburlero Recoinage
2013 Choice Words Ladys Angel Cathay Lady
2012 Rose Of Peace Quidnunc Alberton Park
2011 Ofcourseican Flying Success Trim
2010 Beaded Alverta Illuminates
2009 Belong To Many Espurante Ugly Betty
2008 Litter Danasierra A Country Girl
2007 Kakakakatie Aunty Betty Storm Alert
2006 Wonderer Radio Song One In A Million