Wakeful Stakes Race Information

The Wakeful Stakes is a 2000 metre set weights plus penalties race for three-year-old fillies run by the Victoria Racing Club  in late October. It is run at Flemington on Victoria Derby day as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 2000 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YO fillies
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $300,000
  • Date: Saturday 4 November 2023

Wakeful Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Wakeful Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Wakeful Stakes Preview and results.

Fillies often come to this race via the Thousand Guineas or the Ethereal Stakes. They can also come via the Spring Champion Stakes in Sydney or the Hill Smith Stakes in Adelaide.

Wakeful Stakes Facts

Fastest time (2000m): Aristia (2018) 2:01:0

Thousand Guineas & Wakeful Stakes: Atlantic Jewel (2011); Arborea (1993);  Richfield Lady (1991);  Tristanagh (1989); Brava Jeannie (1979); Just Topic (1973), Toltrice (1972); Indian Summer (1961); Wenona Girl (1960); True Course (1950); Chicquita (1949); Nizam’s Ring (1947); Sweet Chime (1946).

Interesting trivia: 1987 winner Imposera was out of the 1975 winner Calera.

Past winners of the Wakeful Stakes

Winners of past Wakeful Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Amazonian Lass Zardozi Harlow Mist
2022 Zennzella Pavitra As Time Goes By
2021 Willowy Daisies Douceur
2020 Victoria Quay Personal Tyche Goddess
2019 Miami Bound Vegas Jewel Palumbo
2018 Aristia Qafila El Dorado Dreaming
2017 Luvaluva Glam Guru Rimraam
2016 Tiamo Grace Sebring Dream Missrock
2015 Ambience Beluga Blue Muzyka
2014 Thunder Lady Abduction Fenway
2013 Kirramosa May’s Dream Solicit
2012 Zydeco Maraatib Transonic
2011 Atlantic Jewel Rahveel Dowager Queen
2010 Brazilian Pulse Placement Heartsareforlove
2009 Faint Perfume Silent Surround Melito
2008 Rocha Miss Scarlatti Estee
2007 Zarita Riva San Katherine Gold
2006 Tuesday Joy J’adane Anamato
2005 Serenade Rose Astronomia Zenarta
2004 Hollow Bullet Storm Alert Mango Daiquiri
2003 Timbourina Special Harmony Dane Beltar
2002 Hierogram Its Who Deanie Lashed
2001 Quays Gold Lottery Li Lo Lill
2000 Lolita Star Lang Kwai Fong Tanith
1999 My Sienna Forest Express Danglissa
1998 Grand Archway Rose O War Confer
1997 Kensington Palace Marine Spirit Kilmore Quay
1996 Danendri Superb Lady Calm Abiding
1995 Saleous Not On Friday Pontal Lass
1994 Dream Of The Dance Captiva Euphoria
1993 Arborea Alcove Fine Recipe
1992 Love Comes To Town Tempest Command Azzurro
1991 Richfield Lady Yodells Dancefloor Doll
1990 Beachside All Mine Triscay
1989 Tristanagh A Little Kiss La Tristia
1988 Research Salisopra Memphis Blues