W H Wylie Handicap Race Information

The W H Wylie Handicap is an 1100 metre quality handicap race run by the South Australian Jockey Club in September. It is held at Morphettville as part of the Adelaide Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1100 metres
  • Conditions: Open handicap
  • Track: Morphettville Racecourse, Adelaide, South Australia
  • Prizemoney: $120,000
  • Date: Saturday 16 September 2023

W H Wylie Handicap Race History

See the 2023 W H Wylie Handicap Preview and results.

See the 2022 W H Wylie Handicap Preview and results.

The race was first held in 1977 over 1000m at Victoria Park and was won by a horse called Bonfield ridden by Mick Goreham and trained by Les Patterson. The following year it was won by Bagalot ridden by John Letts and trained by Bart Cummings. Forty-one years later Barts grandson James Cummings trained Soothing to win in 2019. In 1996 the race was moved to Cheltenham until 2000, then returned to Victoria Park for one year in 2001. In 2002 the race was moved to Morphettville and the distance increased to 1050m then in 2005 the distance was increased again to the current 1100m.

Clare Lindop was the first female jockey to win the race on Grand Duels in 2010, The following year Lauren Stojakovic won on Just Sybil, and in 2019 Raquel Clark won on Soothing.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Grey River (2023)

Multiple winners:Karacatis (2013 & 2014); Blahnik (2007 & 2008); Paddington End (1996 & 1997); Red Hope ( 1994 & 1995)

Fastest time (1100m): Karacatis (2014) 1:03:15

Leading jockeys: David Tootell with 6 wins (Lemonade Parade 2003; Star Hit 2002; Duke Abbey 1989; Baptize 1987; Sunny Cheval 1982; Bold Prospect 1981). Dwayne Dunn has had 4 winners.

Interesting trivia: In 1984 the race was not held when the meeting was abandoned.

Past winners of the W H Wylie Handicap

Winners of past W H Wylie Handicaps include horses that go on to win major spring races. Most winners are four and five year olds and it is not won by a mare very often. Notable winners include Happy Clapper, Hauraki, Lucia Valentina, Shaftesbury Avenue, Imposing, Wenona Girl and Amounis.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Grey River Aitch Two Oh Zac De Boss
2022 Shamino Kemalpasa Taunting
2021 Free Of Debt Kemalpasa Pimm’s Party
2020 Snitzkraft Shamino Prophet’s Thumb
2019 Soothing Gift Of Power Schilldora
2018 Holy Blade Casino Wizard Carlingford
2017 Lope De Capio Desert Lashes Cool Passion
2016 Illustrious Lad Shaf Brimarvi Prince
2015 The Messina Nymph Sandhill Flash Eclair Choice
2014 Karacatis Iconic Brilliant Bisc
2013 Karacatis Addiction To Rock Maybe Discreet
2012 Achenar Arinos Royal Bender
2011 Just Sybil King Hoaks Curtana
2010 Grand Duels Dr Doute’s Stirling Grove
2009 Very Discreet Augusta Proud La Goulue
2008 Blahnik Soaressa Royal Ida
2007 Blahnik Vormista Amyjaye Power
2006 Royal Ida Magnus Oahu
2005 Leone Chiara El Maze Lord Mick
2004 Cullen Bay Zakuro Brilliant Jewel
2003 Lemonade Parade Oh So Discreet Sciatica
2002 Star Hit Great Glen Romilada
2001 Catango Vargna Corps Commander
2000 Angel’s Jewel Tilt The Scales Irish Jantee
1999 Sir Moula Torque Lake Villa